What are jowls
A surgical anatomy paper describes a jowl as a localized area of extra skin and fat over the jaw. A StatPearls chapter names jowling and neck sagging as the main targets of face-lift surgery. The American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS) says ageing starts in the upper face and moves down, and the drop of the mid-face leads to "squaring off and jowling along the jawline".
Common causes
- Looser connective tissue. The anatomy paper found that the tissue under the skin lengthens with age, letting skin sag over the jaw.
- Age-related changes. StatPearls lists gravity, loose ligaments, extra skin, fat loss and bone loss, and says lower-jaw bone loss reduces jawline definition.
- Fat along the jaw. A filler review says wasting of the mandibular fat and a weakened mandibular septum (a thin wall of tissue beside the jaw) lead to jowls.
- Not confirmed in our sources: the role of smoking, sun, weight change or family history.
Treatments clinics in Korea list for jowls
Each card shows what the treatment is, its downtime as described in the sources, and the lowest regular price a clinic in this directory publishes for it.
Ultherapy
Micro-focused ultrasound that heats small points under the skin, with imaging to check depth.
Downtime (per the sources): Maker: redness fades within hours; mild swelling, tingling or tenderness possible
From ₩300,000 (≈ US$227)EU:GENES Skin Clinic · Eye Ultherapy 100 shots (add-on) · VAT not stated
18 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsShurink
A Korean high-intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) device that heats skin at set depths to stimulate new collagen.
Downtime (per the sources): Maker lists none; slight redness and swelling for a few hours to a few days is possible
From ₩25,000 (≈ US$19)JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo · Shurink Universe 100 shots · VAT excluded
13 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsThread lift
Thin absorbable threads, usually barbed, placed under the skin to hold and lift sagging tissue.
Downtime (per the sources): Swelling, bruising and local pain are expected; swelling lasted 2 to 4 months in some patients
From ₩50,000 (≈ US$38)JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo · Ultra V thread lift, 10 threads · VAT excluded
15 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsFiller
Injectable gel, most often hyaluronic acid (HA), used to smooth wrinkles and restore volume.
Downtime (per the sources): Swelling and bruising soon after injection; many settle within days to weeks
From ₩29,000 (≈ US$22)Art of Shine Skin Clinic · Body Filler 1cc · VAT excluded
19 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsFace lift
Surgery that lifts the skin of the face, tightens deeper tissue layers and removes extra skin.
Downtime (per the sources): Stitches out after a few days to about a week; follow-up visits for about two months; no sun on the incisions for three weeks
From ₩1,980,000 (≈ US$1,490)Newline Plastic Surgery · Double Chin Muscle Tightening · VAT not stated
3 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsWhat the sources say about results and limits
- Focused ultrasound. In 20 Korean patients treated once with the Ulthera system, the jawline, cheek and perioral areas responded most. Satisfaction fell in most areas after 6 months, and there was no control group. In a retrospective study of 24 people, blinded dermatologists rated 5 improved, 15 unchanged and 4 worse. A 3D-scan study of 50 patients treated with Ultraformer MPT (Shurink Universe in Korea) measured an average jowl lift of 2.9 mm immediately after treatment and did not follow patients later. In our sources, neither device's listed approved uses name jowls.
- Thread lifts. A systematic review found only a very limited durability of the lift in all but two studies, and those two were sponsored by thread makers.
- Filler. A review says hyaluronic acid suits mild to moderate loss of contour and volume and lasts about 3 to 12 months, and that more severe cases may need surgery. An ASPS article says filler is not appropriate for moderate to severe jowling.
- Face-lift. ASPS says a neck lift addresses sagging jowls. StatPearls says jowls can often be treated by lifting the SMAS (a deeper layer under the skin), that minor revisions are commonly needed within 1 to 2 years, and that many patients wait 5 to 10 years for a repeat operation.
Published prices
The table shows, for each clinic that lists a regular price, its lowest regular price for each treatment above; items, amounts and VAT basis differ between clinics.
| Clinic | Ultherapy | Shurink | Thread lift | Filler | Face lift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Art of Shine Skin Clinic | ₩380,000 (≈ US$287) VAT excluded · Ulthera 100 shots | ₩65,000 (≈ US$49) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe 100 shots | ₩100,000 (≈ US$76) VAT excluded · JAMBER Thread: 1 Thread | ₩29,000 (≈ US$22) VAT excluded · Body Filler 1cc | — |
| Beauty Park Skin Clinic Beomeo | ₩400,000 (≈ US$302) VAT excluded · Eye Ultherapy · 100 shots | ₩135,000 (≈ US$102) VAT excluded · Eye Shurink · 200 shots | ₩170,000 (≈ US$128) VAT excluded · MINT nose thread lift · tip, 2 threads | ₩90,000 (≈ US$68) VAT excluded · Filler · 아띠에르 (Korean brand) · 1 cc | — |
| Bellis Skin Clinic | ₩550,000 (≈ US$415) VAT included · Eye Ultherapy Prime 100 shots | — | — | ₩176,000 (≈ US$133) VAT included · Shoulder filler 1 cc (Korean brand, add-on) | — |
| DAMI Skin Clinic | ₩550,000 (≈ US$415) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime (face) 100 shots | — | ₩150,000 (≈ US$113) VAT excluded · JAMBER thread lift, per thread 1 thread | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Korean filler (Byrizn, Rejuviel, YVOIRE) 1 cc | — |
| DayBeau Skin Clinic Myeongdong Premium | ₩490,000 (≈ US$370) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 100 shots | ₩80,000 (≈ US$60) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe 100 shots | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Non-surgical lifting thread, 1 thread (Blue Rose) | ₩100,000 (≈ US$76) VAT excluded · Filler dissolving injection, high-purity liquid hyaluronidase 1cc | — |
| EU:GENES Skin Clinic | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) VAT not stated · Eye Ultherapy 100 shots (add-on) | — | ₩70,000 (≈ US$53) VAT excluded · Thread lift, 1 thread | — | — |
| JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo | ₩2,000,000 (≈ US$1,510) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 600 shots | ₩25,000 (≈ US$19) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe 100 shots | ₩50,000 (≈ US$38) VAT excluded · Ultra V thread lift, 10 threads | ₩39,000 (≈ US$29) VAT excluded · Chin filler 1 cc (Atiere) | — |
| JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon | ₩990,000 (≈ US$747) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 300 shots | ₩25,000 (≈ US$19) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe Ultra F, MP mode (line type), 100 shots | ₩50,000 (≈ US$38) VAT excluded · Ultra V threads, 10 threads | ₩39,000 (≈ US$29) VAT excluded · Chin filler 1 cc (Attierre) | — |
| Kleam Skin Clinic Myeongdong | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 100 shots | ₩30,000 (≈ US$23) VAT excluded · Shurink Aurora Ampoule 5cc | — | ₩70,000 (≈ US$53) VAT excluded · Body Filler Korean 1cc (when 200cc or more) | — |
| Louave Skin Clinic | — | — | — | ₩150,000 (≈ US$113) VAT included · Filler (starting price, fee notice) | — |
| Marble Plastic Surgery | — | — | — | — | ₩8,000,000 (≈ US$6,040) VAT excluded · Facelift (fee notice starting price) |
| MIN Skin Clinic | ₩1,200,000 (≈ US$906) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime Eyes, Nasolabial Folds or Jawline 200 shots | — | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) VAT excluded · Spiral Thread Lift PDO — V-Line | ₩290,000 (≈ US$219) VAT excluded · Mouth Corner Filler | — |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) VAT excluded · Ulthera, 100 shots | ₩270,000 (≈ US$204) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe Ultra F, 300 shots | ₩120,000 (≈ US$91) VAT not stated · Mint thread lift, per thread 1 thread | ₩90,000 (≈ US$68) VAT excluded · Lip corner filler, S type | ₩1,980,000 (≈ US$1,490) VAT not stated · Double Chin Muscle Tightening |
| NewRizz Skin Clinic | ₩350,000 (≈ US$264) VAT excluded · Eye Ultherapy 100 shots | ₩90,000 (≈ US$68) VAT excluded · Eye Shurink Universe 100 shots | ₩80,000 (≈ US$60) VAT excluded · Mono collagen threads, 10 threads | ₩139,000 (≈ US$105) VAT excluded · Neuramis (Korean filler) 1 cc | — |
| Oaro Skin Clinic Cheongdam | ₩630,000 (≈ US$476) VAT not stated · Ultherapy (fee notice range) | — | — | ₩320,000 (≈ US$242) VAT not stated · Filler (fee notice range) | — |
| Obliv Seoul Origin Skin Clinic | ₩484,000 (≈ US$365) VAT not stated · Ultherapy PRIME · 100 shots | — | ₩165,000 (≈ US$125) VAT not stated · MINT thread lift | ₩242,000 (≈ US$183) VAT not stated · HA filler · Korean product | — |
| Re:Berry Skin Clinic Yeongjong | — | ₩250,000 (≈ US$189) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe · 300 shots | — | — | — |
| The Walts Clinic | ₩450,000 (≈ US$340) VAT excluded · Ultherapy PRIME 100 shots | ₩159,000 (≈ US$120) VAT excluded · Shurink 300 shots (eye, derma and V tips included) | ₩63,000 (≈ US$48) VAT excluded · Cavern thread lift (face), 1 thread | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Volume filler, Korean (Chaeum Premium / EPTQ) 1 cc | — |
| Val:U Skin Clinic Myeongdong | ₩330,000 (≈ US$249) VAT excluded · Ultherapy · 100 shots | ₩129,000 (≈ US$97) VAT excluded · Shurink Universe Ultra F · 300 shots | — | ₩70,000 (≈ US$53) VAT excluded · Filler dissolving (hyaluronidase) · filler done at this clinic · 1 cc | — |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | — | — | — | — | ₩8,000,000 (≈ US$6,040) VAT not stated · Mini facelift |
| YAAN Skin Clinic | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT not stated · Eye Ultherapy · per 100 shots | ₩390,000 (≈ US$294) VAT not stated · Shurink Universe Ultra Booster · 300 shots | ₩590,000 (≈ US$445) VAT not stated · Silhouette Soft · 1 thread | ₩290,000 (≈ US$219) VAT excluded · Korean filler · 1 cc | — |
| Youngjong Central Skin Clinic | ₩1,875,000 (≈ US$1,420) VAT excluded · Ultherapy · 300 shots (lines) | ₩250,000 (≈ US$189) VAT excluded · Shurink · 100 shots | ₩55,000 (≈ US$42) VAT excluded · Thread lift · PDO mono (grid lifting) · per thread 1 thread | ₩250,000 (≈ US$189) VAT excluded · Filler · Korean brand · 1 cc (forehead, front cheeks, chin, nasolabial folds, side cheeks) | — |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | — | — | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) VAT not stated · Thread lift (starting price) | ₩150,000 (≈ US$113) VAT not stated · Filler (starting price) | — |
Lowest regular price each clinic lists, with its own item and VAT basis.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Is my sagging mainly skin, fat or bone, and how did you decide?
- Which device or product will you use, and how many shots, threads or syringes does the quote cover?
- How many sessions do I need, and how long should the result last?
- What downtime should I expect, and what happens if the result is not as planned?
- Does the written quote include VAT and follow-up visits?
FAQ
What causes jowls?
The sources describe changes with age: connective tissue under the skin lengthens, skin loosens, fat along the jaw wastes and the lower jaw bone loses volume. They do not give each one's share, so a doctor examines the face to judge which are present.
Can jowls be treated without surgery?
The sources describe small ultrasound studies with mixed ratings, limited durability for threads, and filler as unsuited to moderate to severe jowling. ASPS and StatPearls name neck-lift or face-lift surgery for jowls, which means an operation and its recovery. A doctor decides which approach, if any, suits your degree of sagging.
How long do the results last?
Hyaluronic acid filler is described as lasting about 3 to 12 months, and PDO threads are generally absorbed within about 6 months. StatPearls says many face-lift patients do not need a repeat operation for 5 to 10 years, though minor revisions are commonly needed within 1 to 2 years.
Does a thread lift fix jowls?
A systematic review found only a very limited durability of the lift in all but two studies, and those two were sponsored by the makers. In a series of 190 patients treated for complications, skin dimpling, contour irregularity and visible threads were the most common.
Sources
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Three ways to get rid of turkey neck
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Facelift procedure
- StatPearls: Cervicofacial rhytidectomy
- Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (PMC): The surgical anatomy of the jowl and the mandibular ligament reassessed (2023)
- World Journal of Otorhinolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery (PMC): Using injectable fillers for chin and jawline rejuvenation (2023)
- Annals of Dermatology (PMC): High-intensity focused ultrasound for wrinkles and skin laxity in seven different facial areas (2015)
- Dermatologic Therapy (PubMed): Evaluation of microfocused ultrasound for improving skin laxity in the lower face, a retrospective study (2020)
- Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Global Open (PMC): Three-dimensional analysis of lifting effects after Ultraformer-MPT across seven facial aesthetic units (2024)
- Classys Inc.: Ultraformer MPT product page
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: K121700 Ulthera System 510(k) letter and summary (2012)
- 스마트투데이 (SmartToday): Classys, Shurink Universe now also for the eye area, mouth area and neck (2025-01-06)
- Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (PubMed): Thread-lift sutures, still in the lift? A systematic review of the literature (2018)
- Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Global Open (PMC): Facial thread lifting complications in China, analysis and treatment (2021)
