Key facts
| Korean name | 안면거상 |
|---|---|
| What it is | Surgery that lifts the skin of the face, tightens deeper tissue layers and removes extra skin. |
| Maker | Not applicable: a surgical procedure |
| Korea (MFDS) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| United States (FDA) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| Downtime | Stitches out after a few days to about a week; follow-up visits for about two months; no sun on the incisions for three weeks |
| Sessions | One operation, most often 3 to 6 hours (Mayo Clinic) |
| Clinics in this directory | 3 |
| Published regular prices (lowest) | ₩1,980,000 (≈ US$1,490) — Newline Plastic Surgery, Double Chin Muscle Tightening, VAT not stated |
| Published regular prices (highest) | ₩25,000,000 (≈ US$18,900) — Will Be Plastic Surgery, Revision full facelift, VAT not stated |
| Prices checked | 29 October 2026 |
Facts come from the sources listed on this page; prices from the clinics' own price lists, checked up to 29 October 2026. Prices differ in product, amount and VAT basis.
What is a face-lift
In Korean the operation is called 안면거상술 (anmyeon geosangsul). Mayo Clinic says that during a face-lift the surgeon lifts the skin on each side of the face and tightens the deeper tissues. The American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS) says the underlying tissue is repositioned, and commonly the deeper layers of the face and the muscles are lifted too.
A 2023 systematic review in JPRAS Open describes three main techniques. All work on the SMAS (superficial musculoaponeurotic system), a deeper layer under the skin.
- SMAS plication. The SMAS is folded and stitched to create a lift. The review calls it the most common technique, with several variations.
- SMAS flap. A flap of the SMAS is raised and repositioned.
- Deep-plane face-lift. The deeper layers of facial tissue, including the SMAS, are repositioned and lifted.
Mayo Clinic describes a traditional incision that starts in the hairline at the temples and runs down and around the front of the ears. Shorter (limited) incisions also exist. A face-lift most often takes 3 to 6 hours. Korean price lists use the words "mini" and "full" face-lift. Our sources do not define them, so ask the clinic which layers are lifted, where the incisions are and how the two operations differ. The doctor decides after an examination which technique suits you.
Anaesthesia
Mayo Clinic says a face-lift may be done with sedation plus a local anaesthetic, or under general anaesthesia. ASPS lists intravenous sedation and general anaesthesia as the choices.
Our sources do not say who gives the anaesthesia in Korean clinics. The American Society of Anesthesiologists advises that anaesthesia care be led by an anaesthesiologist. Ask who will give it and what that person's role is.
How clinics in Korea price a face-lift
- Per surgery, by extent. Lists price one operation and separate a mini face-lift, a full face-lift, a full face-lift with a neck lift and a revision. The gap between the lowest and highest price is wide because the operations are different. Compare the same operation across clinics.
- Other items under the same heading. The lowest price in the key-facts box can be for a smaller neck or chin procedure that a clinic lists under face-lift, not for a face-lift itself. Read the item name.
- Revision. Clinics that list a revision face-lift price it above a first operation.
- Starting prices. Some lists show a starting price taken from the clinic's posted fee notice. The final price depends on the examination.
- Not covered by insurance. Cosmetic surgery is outside Korea's national health insurance, for Korean residents as well (비급여, bigeubyeo, "non-covered"). Each clinic sets its own price. Under the Medical Service Act (article 45), clinics must make their non-covered fees easy to find and may not charge more than the fees they posted.
- 10% VAT. As of October 2026, Korea's VAT decree names wrinkle-removal (face-lift) surgery among the cosmetic operations that carry 10% VAT. "부가세 별도" (bugase byeoldo) means VAT is added on top of the listed price. Some lists do not state the VAT basis. The tourist VAT refund for cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025. See our guide to VAT and the ended refund.
Deposits and cancellations
Clinics often ask for a deposit when you book surgery. Korea's Consumer Dispute Resolution Standards (Fair Trade Commission notice 2025-14, in force from 18 December 2025) say a patient who cancels cosmetic surgery gets 90% of the deposit back three or more days before the surgery date, 50% two days before, 20% one day before and nothing on the day or later. If the deposit is more than 10% of the surgery price, the calculation uses 10% of the price. These standards guide agreements and mediation and do not automatically override a contract. See our guide to deposits and cancellations.
Published prices
The table shows each clinic's published prices by item, unit and VAT basis. Regular prices and event prices are marked separately. The items differ in extent, so compare like with like.
| Clinic | Item | Unit | Price (KRW) | VAT | Type | Valid until | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marble Plastic Surgery | Facelift (fee notice starting price) | per surgery | ₩8,000,000 (≈ US$6,040) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Facelift | per surgery | ₩5,500,000 (≈ US$4,150) – ₩6,000,000 (≈ US$4,530) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Double Chin Muscle Tightening | per surgery | ₩1,980,000 (≈ US$1,490) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Mini facelift | per surgery | ₩8,000,000 (≈ US$6,040) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Full facelift | per surgery | ₩15,000,000 (≈ US$11,300) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Full facelift + neck lift | per surgery | ₩20,000,000 (≈ US$15,100) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Revision full facelift | per surgery | ₩25,000,000 (≈ US$18,900) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
Downtime and aftercare
- Drain and stitches. Mayo Clinic says the surgeon may remove a drainage tube the day after surgery, and removes the stitches about a week after surgery. ASPS says the sutures may dissolve or may need to be removed after a few days. The sources differ, so ask which stitches you will have and when they come out.
- Follow-up. Mayo Clinic says follow-up appointments continue for about two months after surgery. Ask which visits must happen in Korea and which can be done at home.
- Complications. Mayo Clinic says a hematoma, blood collecting under the skin, is the most common complication and usually forms within 24 hours of surgery.
- Sun. Mayo Clinic advises keeping the incisions out of the sun for three weeks.
- Flying home. The NHS advises not flying for 7 to 10 days after facial cosmetic procedures. Air travel and surgery each raise the risk of a blood clot. Ask your surgeon when you may fly. See our guide to downtime and flights.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Which technique will be used (SMAS plication, SMAS flap or deep-plane), where will the incisions be, and which areas does the price cover (face, neck)?
- What exactly is the "mini" or "full" operation in your price list, and what makes the difference in price?
- Who will operate, and who will give the anaesthesia? In an alert on eye and nose surgery, the Korea Consumer Agency advised checking whether the surgeon is a specialist in plastic surgery (성형외과 전문의), their experience and their main field.
- Will I get a written consent form that names the explaining doctor and the main doctors taking part? Korean law requires one before surgery or general anaesthesia, and you can ask for a copy.
- Under general anaesthesia, will the operation be filmed if I ask? Korean law requires an operating-room camera for patients who are not conscious, and the operation must be filmed if you or your guardian ask, with limited exceptions.
- How long should I stay in Korea, and which follow-up visits can be done at home?
- Is VAT included? Is this a regular or an event price? What are the deposit and cancellation terms, and what happens if a revision is needed?
Compare and read more
Related pages from this directory:
- Rhinoplasty in Korea
- Double eyelid surgery in Korea
- Deposits and cancellations at Korean clinics
- Downtime and flights after a procedure in Korea
Clinics that list face-lift
These clinics in this directory publish face-lift prices. Each card links to the clinic's listing.
Marble Plastic Surgery
마블성형외과의원
Newline Plastic Surgery
뉴라인성형외과의원
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
FAQ
How much does a face-lift cost in Korea?
Korean clinics price a face-lift per surgery, and the price depends on the extent: a mini face-lift, a full face-lift, a full face-lift with a neck lift or a revision. Some lists show only a starting price. The table on this page shows each clinic's regular prices with the VAT basis and the date they were checked, so compare the same operation.
What is the difference between a mini and a full face-lift?
Our sources do not define the two terms. Mayo Clinic describes a traditional incision from the temple hairline around the ear and says shorter, limited incisions also exist. Clinics use "mini" and "full" in their own way. Ask which layers are lifted, where the incisions are and what the price covers.
How long is recovery after a face-lift?
Mayo Clinic says the surgeon may remove a drain the day after surgery and removes stitches about a week later, with follow-up appointments for about two months. ASPS says sutures may dissolve or come out after a few days. Mayo Clinic advises keeping the incisions out of the sun for three weeks. Your doctor sets your own plan.
Can I fly home after a face-lift?
The NHS advises not flying for 7 to 10 days after facial cosmetic procedures. Air travel and surgery each raise the risk of blood clots. Mayo Clinic says follow-up visits continue for about two months, so ask which can be done at home. Ask your surgeon when you may fly, and agree the date before you book.
Does insurance cover a face-lift in Korea?
No. Cosmetic surgery is outside Korea's national health insurance, also for residents, so each clinic sets its price. Clinics must post their non-covered fees and may not charge more than they posted. Wrinkle-removal surgery carries 10% VAT, and the tourist VAT refund ended on 31 December 2025 (status as of October 2026).
Sources
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Facelift procedure steps
- Mayo Clinic: Face-lift (page dated 28 March 2026)
- JPRAS Open: Mortada and colleagues, Evolution of SMAS facelift techniques, a systematic review of complications and outcomes (2023)
- NHS (England): Cosmetic surgery abroad (last reviewed 14 December 2022)
- American Society of Anesthesiologists: Preparing for surgery, adult checklist
- Fair Trade Commission via National Law Information Center: Consumer Dispute Resolution Standards, Notice 2025-14
- Korea Consumer Agency via Consumer 24: Alert on eye and nose surgery (2015), advice on choosing a surgeon
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act, article 24-2 (explanation and consent)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act, article 38-2 (operating-room CCTV)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act (article 45)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Rules on health insurance benefits, article 7 and Appendix 2 (non-covered items)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): VAT Enforcement Decree, article 35
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Restriction of Special Taxation Act, article 107-3 (tourist VAT refund)
- Korea Consumer Agency: Alert on unreturned cosmetic-surgery deposits (2013)
Prices in the table are the regular prices that clinics in this directory publish on their own price lists, checked at each update.



