Key facts
| Korean name | 쌍꺼풀 수술 |
|---|---|
| What it is | Surgery that creates a fold (crease) in the upper eyelid, with buried or removable stitches or through an incision. |
| Maker | Not applicable: a surgical procedure |
| Korea (MFDS) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| United States (FDA) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| Downtime | Stitches out within about a week; swelling eases over 10–14 days; scars can take months to fade |
| Clinics in this directory | 5 |
| Published regular prices (lowest) | ₩700,000 (≈ US$529) — Newline Plastic Surgery, Double eyelid surgery, VAT excluded |
| Published regular prices (highest) | ₩1,600,000 (≈ US$1,210) — Newline Plastic Surgery, Revision double eyelid surgery, VAT excluded |
| Prices checked | 29 October 2026 |
Facts come from the sources listed on this page; prices from the clinics' own price lists, checked up to 29 October 2026. Prices differ in product, amount and VAT basis.
What is double eyelid surgery
In Korean the operation is called 쌍꺼풀 수술 (ssangkkeopul susul). The Korea Consumer Agency files it under 눈성형수술, eye cosmetic surgery. Korean surgeons writing in Archives of Plastic Surgery (2013) say double-eyelid blepharoplasty keeps gaining popularity among Asian women. There are two main approaches.
- Non-incisional (suture) method. Stitches form the fold without a skin incision. In the buried type, the stitches stay under the skin, so none need to be removed. The Korean authors say this technique is widely used because it needs no suture removal and causes less scarring. In the non-buried type, the stitches are tied over the skin and taken out after a few days. The same paper calls the non-incisional method simple and easier to revise, with less swelling and faster recovery. It also names known drawbacks: the fold can loosen, the eyelids can look uneven (asymmetry), and a small cyst can form (inclusion cyst).
- Incisional method. The surgeon works through an incision in the natural crease of the upper eyelid, according to the American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS). Mayo Clinic says the surgeon can trim sagging skin and muscle and remove excess fat.
The doctor decides after an examination which method suits your eyelids. A 2015 Korea Consumer Agency alert on eye and nose surgery named asymmetry as a frequent side effect.
Anaesthesia
In a Korean series of 250 buried-suture operations, the surgery was done under local anaesthesia. In a published Asian series of incisional operations, most patients had local anaesthesia with oral premedication. Mayo Clinic says eyelid surgery is usually an outpatient operation, with numbing injections into the eyelids and sometimes IV medicine to relax. ASPS lists intravenous sedation or general anaesthesia as the choices.
Our sources do not say who gives the anaesthesia in Korean clinics. The American Society of Anesthesiologists advises that anaesthesia care be led by an anaesthesiologist. Ask who will give it and what that person's role is.
How clinics in Korea price double eyelid surgery
- Per surgery. Lists usually price one operation. Ask whether the price covers both eyes.
- By method. Non-incisional items (buried suture, or "natural adhesion" in some clinics' words) and incisional items are listed separately. The incisional item is usually priced above the non-incisional one.
- Extra steps and revision. Clinics list ptosis correction and upper blepharoplasty (removal of excess skin) as separate items. They are usually priced above plain double eyelid surgery, and revision surgery is priced above a first operation.
- Starting prices. Some lists show a starting price taken from the clinic's posted fee notice. The final price depends on the examination.
- Event prices. Time-limited event prices exist. They appear in the table with an end date and are not regular prices.
- Not covered by insurance. Cosmetic surgery is outside Korea's national health insurance, for Korean residents as well (비급여, bigeubyeo, "non-covered"). Each clinic sets its own price. Under the Medical Service Act (article 45), clinics must make their non-covered fees easy to find and may not charge more than the fees they posted.
- 10% VAT. As of October 2026, Korea's VAT decree names double eyelid surgery among the cosmetic operations that carry 10% VAT. "부가세 별도" (bugase byeoldo) means VAT is added on top of the listed price. Some lists do not state the VAT basis. The tourist VAT refund for cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025. See our guide to VAT and the ended refund.
Deposits and cancellations
Clinics often ask for a deposit when you book. Under Korea's Consumer Dispute Resolution Standards (Fair Trade Commission notice 2025-14, in force from 18 December 2025), a patient who cancels cosmetic surgery gets 90% of the deposit back three or more days before the surgery date, 50% two days before, 20% one day before and nothing on the day or later. If the deposit is more than 10% of the surgery price, the calculation uses 10% of the price. These standards guide agreements and mediation and do not automatically override a contract. See our guide to deposits and cancellations.
Published prices
The table shows each clinic's published prices by item, unit and VAT basis. Regular prices and event prices are marked separately. The items differ in method and in extra steps, so compare like with like.
| Clinic | Item | Unit | Price (KRW) | VAT | Type | Valid until | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marble Plastic Surgery | Eye surgery (fee notice starting price) | per surgery | ₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Marble Plastic Surgery | Natural-adhesion double eyelid surgery (autumn event) | per surgery | ₩649,000 (≈ US$490) | VAT included | Event | 31 October 2026 | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Double eyelid surgery | per surgery | ₩700,000 (≈ US$529) – ₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Double eyelid surgery with ptosis correction | per surgery | ₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755) – ₩2,000,000 (≈ US$1,510) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Revision double eyelid surgery | per surgery | ₩1,600,000 (≈ US$1,210) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Upper blepharoplasty | per surgery | ₩1,200,000 (≈ US$906) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| NewRizz Skin Clinic | Incisional double-eyelid surgery | per surgery | ₩1,200,000 (≈ US$906) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| NewRizz Skin Clinic | Non-incisional double-eyelid surgery (buried suture) | per surgery | ₩700,000 (≈ US$529) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Non-incisional (natural adhesion) double fold with ptosis correction | per surgery | ₩3,500,000 (≈ US$2,640) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Incisional double fold with ptosis correction | per surgery | ₩5,000,000 (≈ US$3,780) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | Double eyelid surgery, natural adhesion (starting price) | per surgery | ₩800,000 (≈ US$604) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | Double eyelid surgery, incisional (starting price) | per surgery | ₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
Downtime and aftercare
- Stitches. ASPS says stitches from eyelid incisions are removed within one week. In a 362-case Asian blepharoplasty series, all sutures were removed after one week. Buried non-incisional stitches need no removal. Mayo Clinic mentions dissolving stitches and also a return visit to have stitches removed if needed, so ask which kind you will have and where they can be removed.
- Swelling and scars. Mayo Clinic says bruising and swelling lessen slowly over about 10 to 14 days and scars may take months to fade. The Asian blepharoplasty papers we read give no swelling timeline.
- Activity. Mayo Clinic advises against heavy lifting, swimming, jogging and aerobics for a week, and against wearing contact lenses for about two weeks.
- Flying home. The NHS advises not flying for 7 to 10 days after facial cosmetic procedures. This is general guidance for facial surgery, not specific to eyelids. Plan your check-ups and ask your surgeon when you may fly. See our guide to downtime and flights.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Which method will be used (non-incisional buried, non-buried or incisional), and why for my eyelids? What are its known drawbacks, such as a loosening fold, asymmetry or a cyst?
- Does the price cover both eyes? Which steps, such as ptosis correction or removal of skin or fat, are included and which are extra?
- Will stitches need to be removed, and can that be done before I fly home?
- What happens if the fold loosens or the eyelids look uneven? Is a revision free, charged or time-limited? Ask for the terms in writing.
- Who will operate, and who will give the anaesthesia? The Korea Consumer Agency advises checking whether the surgeon is a specialist in plastic surgery (성형외과 전문의), their experience and their main field.
- Will I get a written consent form that names the explaining doctor and the main doctors taking part? Korean law requires one before surgery or general anaesthesia, and you can ask for a copy.
- Is VAT included? Is this a regular or an event price? What are the deposit and cancellation terms?
Compare and read more
Related pages from this directory:
- Rhinoplasty in Korea
- Face-lift in Korea
- Deposits and cancellations at Korean clinics
- Downtime and flights after a procedure in Korea
Clinics that list double eyelid surgery
These clinics in this directory publish double eyelid surgery prices. Each card links to the clinic's listing.
Marble Plastic Surgery
마블성형외과의원
Newline Plastic Surgery
뉴라인성형외과의원
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
FAQ
How much does double eyelid surgery cost in Korea?
Korean clinics usually price it per surgery, and the price depends on the method. Non-incisional (buried suture) items are usually listed below incisional ones, and ptosis correction and revision surgery are priced above plain double eyelid surgery. Some lists show only a starting price. The table on this page shows each clinic's regular prices with the VAT basis and check date.
What is the difference between incisional and non-incisional surgery?
Non-incisional surgery forms the fold with stitches and no skin incision. Incisional surgery uses an incision in the natural eyelid crease, which also lets the surgeon trim skin, muscle and fat. A Korean paper lists loosening of the fold, asymmetry and inclusion cysts as known drawbacks of the buried-suture method. The doctor decides which method fits.
How long is recovery after double eyelid surgery?
Mayo Clinic says bruising and swelling lessen over about 10 to 14 days, and scars may take months to fade. ASPS says stitches from eyelid incisions come out within a week. Buried stitches need no removal. Mayo Clinic advises no heavy lifting or swimming for a week and no contact lenses for about two weeks. Your doctor sets your own plan.
Can I fly home right after double eyelid surgery?
That depends on your surgeon's advice. The NHS advises not flying for 7 to 10 days after facial cosmetic procedures, which is general guidance for facial surgery. If your stitches need removal, that also needs a visit. Ask your surgeon when you may fly, and agree the date before you book your flight.
Does insurance cover double eyelid surgery in Korea?
No. Cosmetic surgery is outside Korea's national health insurance, also for residents, so each clinic sets its price. Clinics must post their non-covered fees and may not charge more than they posted. Double eyelid surgery carries 10% VAT, and the tourist VAT refund ended on 31 December 2025 (status as of October 2026).
Sources
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Eyelid surgery procedure steps
- Mayo Clinic: Blepharoplasty
- Archives of Plastic Surgery (Korean Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons): Moon, Yoon and Lee, Modified double-eyelid blepharoplasty using the single-knot continuous buried non-incisional technique (2013)
- Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Global Open: Chen, Techniques, principles and benchmarks in Asian blepharoplasty (2019)
- NHS (England): Cosmetic surgery abroad (last reviewed 14 December 2022)
- American Society of Anesthesiologists: Preparing for surgery, adult checklist
- Fair Trade Commission via National Law Information Center: Consumer Dispute Resolution Standards, Notice 2025-14
- Korea Consumer Agency: Alert on unreturned cosmetic-surgery deposits (2013)
- Korea Consumer Agency via Consumer 24: Alert on eye and nose surgery (2015)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act, article 24-2 (explanation and consent)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act (article 45)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Rules on health insurance benefits, article 7 and Appendix 2 (non-covered items)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): VAT Enforcement Decree, article 35
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Restriction of Special Taxation Act, article 107-3 (tourist VAT refund)
Prices in the table are the regular prices that clinics in this directory publish on their own price lists, checked at each update.





