Key facts
| Korean name | 코성형 |
|---|---|
| What it is | Surgery that reshapes the nose by changing bone, cartilage, skin or all three. |
| Maker | Not applicable: a surgical procedure |
| Korea (MFDS) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| United States (FDA) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| Downtime | Splint about a week; most activities after a week and all after 2–4 weeks; the final shape can take up to a year |
| Clinics in this directory | 4 |
| Published regular prices (lowest) | ₩1,020,410 (≈ US$770) — Newline Plastic Surgery, Functional rhinoplasty, VAT excluded |
| Published regular prices (highest) | ₩4,000,000 (≈ US$3,020) — YUNO Plastic Surgery, Revision rhinoplasty (starting price), VAT not stated |
| Prices checked | 29 October 2026 |
Facts come from the sources listed on this page; prices from the clinics' own price lists, checked up to 29 October 2026. Prices differ in product, amount and VAT basis.
What is rhinoplasty
In Korean the operation is called 코성형 (koseonghyeong). Mayo Clinic says rhinoplasty can change bone, cartilage, skin or all three.
- Closed or open approach. In closed rhinoplasty the incisions are hidden inside the nose. In open rhinoplasty the surgeon adds an incision across the columella, the strip of tissue between the nostrils (American Society of Plastic Surgeons, ASPS).
- Grafts and implants. Cartilage for grafts most commonly comes from the septum, the wall dividing the nose. ASPS says cartilage from the ear is occasionally used and rib cartilage rarely. Mayo Clinic says that for larger changes, cartilage from a rib, implants or bone from other parts of the body can be used.
- Asian noses. A review of Asian rhinoplasty says the supply of septal cartilage is limited because the cartilaginous part of the septum tends to be smaller in Asians than in white patients. Its author prefers the patient's own rib (costal) cartilage for augmentations greater than 5 mm. The ASPS statement that rib cartilage is rarely used describes general practice, so the sources describe different patients.
- Septum. A crooked (deviated) septum can be straightened in the same operation. This is called septoplasty (Mayo Clinic).
The doctor decides after an examination which approach and material suit your nose. A 2015 Korea Consumer Agency alert on eye and nose surgery named asymmetry as a frequent side effect.
Anaesthesia
Mayo Clinic says the kind of anaesthesia depends on how complex the surgery is and what the surgeon prefers. Local anaesthesia with sedation is usually used in an outpatient setting. General anaesthesia puts you fully asleep and requires a breathing tube. ASPS lists intravenous sedation or general anaesthesia as the choices.
Our sources do not say who gives the anaesthesia in Korean clinics. The American Society of Anesthesiologists advises that anaesthesia care be led by an anaesthesiologist. Ask who will give it and what that person's role is.
How clinics in Korea price rhinoplasty
- Per surgery, by goal. Lists price one operation and often split it by what is changed: bridge (dorsum) augmentation with an implant, bridge and tip, a hump, a crooked nose, a bulbous tip, or breathing (listed by some clinics as functional rhinoplasty or nasal valve work). Ask what an item includes.
- Revision. Clinics that list revision rhinoplasty usually price it above a first operation.
- Starting prices. Some lists show a starting price taken from the clinic's posted fee notice. The final price depends on the examination.
- Event prices. Time-limited event prices exist, often for smaller items. They appear in the table with an end date and are not regular prices.
- Not covered by insurance. Cosmetic surgery is outside Korea's national health insurance, for Korean residents as well (비급여, bigeubyeo, "non-covered"). Each clinic sets its own price. Under the Medical Service Act (article 45), clinics must make their non-covered fees easy to find and may not charge more than the fees they posted.
- 10% VAT. As of October 2026, Korea's VAT decree names nose surgery among the cosmetic operations that carry 10% VAT. "부가세 별도" (bugase byeoldo) means VAT is added on top of the listed price. Some lists do not state the VAT basis. The tourist VAT refund for cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025. See our guide to VAT and the ended refund.
Deposits and cancellations
Many clinics ask for a deposit when you book surgery. Korea's Consumer Dispute Resolution Standards (Fair Trade Commission notice 2025-14, in force from 18 December 2025) say a patient who cancels cosmetic surgery gets 90% of the deposit back three or more days before the surgery date, 50% two days before, 20% one day before and nothing on the day or later. If the deposit is more than 10% of the surgery price, the calculation uses 10% of the price. These standards guide agreements and mediation and do not automatically override a contract. The Korea Consumer Agency has advised paying a deposit of no more than 10% of the total cost. See our guide to deposits and cancellations.
Published prices
The table shows each clinic's published prices by item, unit and VAT basis. Regular prices and event prices are marked separately. The items cover different goals, so compare like with like.
| Clinic | Item | Unit | Price (KRW) | VAT | Type | Valid until | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marble Plastic Surgery | Rhinoplasty (fee notice starting price) | per surgery | ₩2,000,000 (≈ US$1,510) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Marble Plastic Surgery | Alar reduction (autumn event) | per surgery | ₩660,000 (≈ US$498) | VAT included | Event | 31 October 2026 | 29 October 2026 |
| Marble Plastic Surgery | Functional rhinoplasty, from (autumn event) | per surgery | ₩550,000 (≈ US$415) | VAT included | Event | 31 October 2026 | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Dorsum and tip rhinoplasty | per surgery | ₩2,000,000 (≈ US$1,510) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Dorsum augmentation with implant | per surgery | ₩1,500,000 (≈ US$1,130) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Functional rhinoplasty | per surgery | ₩1,020,410 (≈ US$770) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Revision rhinoplasty | per surgery | ₩3,000,000 (≈ US$2,270) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Functional revision rhinoplasty | per surgery | ₩2,040,820 (≈ US$1,540) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Hump nose correction | per surgery | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Bulbous nose correction | per surgery | ₩3,000,000 (≈ US$2,270) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Crooked nose correction | per surgery | ₩3,500,000 (≈ US$2,640) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | Nasal valve reconstruction | per surgery | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) | VAT excluded | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | Open rhinoplasty (nasal bridge + tip) | per surgery | ₩5,000,000 (≈ US$3,780) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | Rhinoplasty (starting price) | per surgery | ₩2,200,000 (≈ US$1,660) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | Revision rhinoplasty (starting price) | per surgery | ₩4,000,000 (≈ US$3,020) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
Downtime and aftercare
- Bandages and splint. Mayo Clinic says internal bandages usually stay in for 1 to 7 days. An external splint is usually on for about one week.
- Time off and activity. Mayo Clinic advises planning a week off work or school. People are usually back to most activities after a week and to all activities after 2 to 4 weeks.
- Swelling and bruising. Mayo Clinic says swelling or bruising around the eyelids may last 2 to 3 weeks. ASPS says the first swelling subsides within a few weeks, but the new nose contour can take up to a year to refine fully.
- Glasses. Mayo Clinic advises not resting glasses or sunglasses on the nose for at least four weeks.
- Flying home. The NHS advises not flying for 7 to 10 days after facial cosmetic procedures. Ask your surgeon when you may fly, and plan where follow-up check-ups will take place. See our guide to downtime and flights.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Will the surgery be open or closed, and why? Where will the incisions be?
- What material will be used for the bridge or tip: your own cartilage (septum, ear or rib), an implant, or both? If it comes from your body, what does that mean for recovery?
- What does the price include (bridge, tip, septum straightening, alar work)? Which items are extra?
- What is the revision policy? The final shape can take up to a year to refine, so ask when a revision would be considered and what it would cost. Ask for the terms in writing.
- Who will operate, and who will give the anaesthesia? The Korea Consumer Agency advises checking whether the surgeon is a specialist in plastic surgery (성형외과 전문의), their experience and their main field.
- Will I get a written consent form that names the explaining doctor and the main doctors taking part? Korean law requires one before surgery or general anaesthesia, and you can ask for a copy. If you are under general anaesthesia, the operation must be filmed if you or your guardian ask, with limited exceptions.
- Is VAT included? Is this a regular or an event price? What are the deposit and cancellation terms?
Compare and read more
Related pages from this directory:
- Double eyelid surgery in Korea
- Face-lift in Korea
- Deposits and cancellations at Korean clinics
- Downtime and flights after a procedure in Korea
Clinics that list rhinoplasty
These clinics in this directory publish rhinoplasty prices. Each card links to the clinic's listing.
Marble Plastic Surgery
마블성형외과의원
Newline Plastic Surgery
뉴라인성형외과의원
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
FAQ
How much does rhinoplasty cost in Korea?
Korean clinics usually price rhinoplasty per surgery and list separate items for the bridge, the tip, a hump, a crooked nose or breathing. Revision surgery is usually priced above a first operation, and some lists show only a starting price. The table on this page shows each clinic's regular prices with the VAT basis and the date they were checked.
What is the difference between open and closed rhinoplasty?
In closed rhinoplasty all incisions are inside the nose. In open rhinoplasty the surgeon adds an incision across the columella, the strip between the nostrils (ASPS). Which approach is used depends on the changes planned. The doctor decides after an examination, so ask the clinic why it recommends one over the other.
How long is recovery after rhinoplasty?
Mayo Clinic says internal bandages stay in for 1 to 7 days and a splint for about a week. People are usually back to most activities after a week and all activities after 2 to 4 weeks. ASPS says the new contour can take up to a year to refine. Your doctor sets your own plan.
Can I fly home after rhinoplasty?
The NHS advises not flying for 7 to 10 days after facial cosmetic procedures. Mayo Clinic says the splint is usually on for about a week, and swelling around the eyes can last 2 to 3 weeks. Ask your surgeon when you may fly, and agree the date before you book your flight.
Does insurance cover rhinoplasty in Korea?
Cosmetic surgery is outside Korea's national health insurance, also for residents, so each clinic sets its price. Clinics must post their non-covered fees and may not charge more than they posted. Nose surgery carries 10% VAT, and the tourist VAT refund ended on 31 December 2025 (status as of October 2026). Ask the clinic about your own case.
Sources
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Rhinoplasty procedure steps
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Rhinoplasty recovery
- Mayo Clinic: Rhinoplasty
- Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Global Open: Ishii, Current update in Asian rhinoplasty (2014)
- NHS (England): Cosmetic surgery abroad (last reviewed 14 December 2022)
- American Society of Anesthesiologists: Preparing for surgery, adult checklist
- Fair Trade Commission via National Law Information Center: Consumer Dispute Resolution Standards, Notice 2025-14
- Korea Consumer Agency: Alert on unreturned cosmetic-surgery deposits (2013)
- Korea Consumer Agency via Consumer 24: Alert on eye and nose surgery (2015)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act, article 24-2 (explanation and consent)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act, article 38-2 (operating-room CCTV)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Medical Service Act (article 45)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Rules on health insurance benefits, article 7 and Appendix 2 (non-covered items)
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): VAT Enforcement Decree, article 35
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): Restriction of Special Taxation Act, article 107-3 (tourist VAT refund)
Prices in the table are the regular prices that clinics in this directory publish on their own price lists, checked at each update.




