Korean term: 이중턱
What is double chin
A systematic review calls submental fullness, commonly known as a double chin, a prevalent aesthetic concern. A second review says the fat lies in two layers, above and below the platysma (the thin neck muscle). Enlarged submandibular glands (salivary glands under the jaw) can be mistaken for it, says a thread-lift review. See also turkey neck.
Common causes
- Genetics, fat and loose skin. The American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS) names these, sometimes in combination, and says weak chin structure can contribute.
- Weight gain or localized fat. The thread-lift review calls this the most common presentation. It also lists a short jaw from birth and changes after jaw surgery.
- Ageing. The lipolytic review links the change to ageing, mainly through changes in fat tissue.
Treatments clinics in Korea list for double chin
Each card shows what the treatment is, its downtime as described in the sources, and the lowest regular price a clinic in this directory publishes for it. The liposuction card can show the lowest price for another body area, so check the item in the table.
Liposuction
Surgery that removes fat cells from a specific area through small incisions and a thin tube.
Downtime (per the sources): Compression garment for a few weeks; back to work after a few days to 2–3 weeks, depending on the source and the job
From ₩1,500,000 (≈ US$1,130)YUNO Plastic Surgery · Liposuction, one area 1 area · VAT not stated
3 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsOnda lifting
Microwave (Coolwaves) device that heats fat and connective tissue under the skin; Korean clinics also offer it for face lifting.
Downtime (per the sources): Temporary redness and mild tingling; effects usually settle within a few days
From ₩65,000 (≈ US$49)Art of Shine Skin Clinic · ONDA 10,000 J · VAT excluded
16 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsUltherapy
Micro-focused ultrasound that heats small points under the skin, with imaging to check depth.
Downtime (per the sources): Maker: redness fades within hours; mild swelling, tingling or tenderness possible
From ₩300,000 (≈ US$227)EU:GENES Skin Clinic · Eye Ultherapy 100 shots (add-on) · VAT not stated
18 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsSofwave
Non-focused ultrasound sent in parallel beams to heat the dermis and stimulate collagen.
Downtime (per the sources): Maker: daily activities can resume immediately; two studies report pain of about 5.6 and 6.6 out of 10
From ₩500,000 (≈ US$378)Beauty Park Skin Clinic Beomeo · Eye Sofwave · 50 shots · VAT excluded
8 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsThread lift
Thin absorbable threads, usually barbed, placed under the skin to hold and lift sagging tissue.
Downtime (per the sources): Swelling, bruising and local pain are expected; swelling lasted 2 to 4 months in some patients
From ₩50,000 (≈ US$38)JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo · Ultra V thread lift, 10 threads · VAT excluded
15 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsFace lift
Surgery that lifts the skin of the face, tightens deeper tissue layers and removes extra skin.
Downtime (per the sources): Stitches out after a few days to about a week; follow-up visits for about two months; no sun on the incisions for three weeks
From ₩1,980,000 (≈ US$1,490)Newline Plastic Surgery · Double Chin Muscle Tightening · VAT not stated
3 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsWhat the sources say about results and limits
- Liposuction. ASPS describes a tiny incision, visible improvement within the first week and most swelling subsiding by four to six weeks. For skin laxity or poor elasticity, it says surgeons typically recommend a neck lift instead.
- ONDA. The maker markets it mainly for localized fat and cellulite; its Pocket handpiece is aimed at lifting and the area under the chin. Its published protocol is for the body. A study for double chin, and an MFDS or FDA record, are not confirmed in our sources.
- Ultrasound lifting. Ultherapy and Sofwave have FDA clearance to lift lax tissue under the chin. Our sources do not describe either as removing fat. In a small, maker-sponsored Ultherapy pilot, 95% of subjects reported improvement on both global scales at one year, while blinded reviewers rated 6 of 14 evaluable subjects improved.
- Thread lifts. The thread-lift review says excess fat is reduced first, and lists gland injury, nerve injury and dimpling as risks.
- Face-lift with neck lift. Cleveland Clinic says that if a double chin is your main concern, other options such as double-chin surgery may suit better than a neck lift.
- Not in this directory. Clinics may also list fat-dissolving injections (a prescription medicine) and fat freezing; see the FAQ.
Published prices
The table shows, for each clinic that lists a regular price, its lowest regular price for each treatment above; items, amounts and VAT basis differ between clinics.
| Clinic | Liposuction | Onda lifting | Ultherapy | Sofwave | Thread lift | Face lift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Art of Shine Skin Clinic | — | ₩65,000 (≈ US$49) VAT excluded · ONDA 10,000 J | ₩380,000 (≈ US$287) VAT excluded · Ulthera 100 shots | — | ₩100,000 (≈ US$76) VAT excluded · JAMBER Thread: 1 Thread | — |
| BBAE Clinic | ₩2,000,000 (≈ US$1,510) VAT excluded · Back (shoulder blade, bra line) | — | — | — | — | — |
| Beauty Park Skin Clinic Beomeo | — | — | ₩400,000 (≈ US$302) VAT excluded · Eye Ultherapy · 100 shots | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Eye Sofwave · 50 shots | ₩170,000 (≈ US$128) VAT excluded · MINT nose thread lift · tip, 2 threads | — |
| Bellis Skin Clinic | — | ₩605,000 (≈ US$457) VAT included · Body ONDA 80,000 J, upper arms | ₩550,000 (≈ US$415) VAT included · Eye Ultherapy Prime 100 shots | — | — | — |
| DAMI Skin Clinic | — | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) VAT excluded · ONDA face 30 kJ | ₩550,000 (≈ US$415) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime (face) 100 shots | — | ₩150,000 (≈ US$113) VAT excluded · JAMBER thread lift, per thread 1 thread | — |
| DayBeau Skin Clinic Myeongdong Premium | — | ₩120,000 (≈ US$91) VAT excluded · ONDA lifting 10,000 J | ₩490,000 (≈ US$370) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 100 shots | ₩990,000 (≈ US$747) VAT excluded · Sofwave 100 pulses (aftercare included) | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Non-surgical lifting thread, 1 thread (Blue Rose) | — |
| EU:GENES Skin Clinic | — | ₩550,000 (≈ US$415) VAT excluded · ONDA 60,000 J, 1 session | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) VAT not stated · Eye Ultherapy 100 shots (add-on) | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Sofwave 50 count 50 shots | ₩70,000 (≈ US$53) VAT excluded · Thread lift, 1 thread | — |
| JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo | — | ₩190,000 (≈ US$143) VAT excluded · Onda 30,000 J | ₩2,000,000 (≈ US$1,510) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 600 shots | — | ₩50,000 (≈ US$38) VAT excluded · Ultra V thread lift, 10 threads | — |
| JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon | — | ₩100,000 (≈ US$76) VAT excluded · Onda 10,000 J (face) | ₩990,000 (≈ US$747) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 300 shots | ₩900,000 (≈ US$680) VAT excluded · Sofwave 100 shots | ₩50,000 (≈ US$38) VAT excluded · Ultra V threads, 10 threads | — |
| Kleam Skin Clinic Myeongdong | — | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Onda Face Lifting 40kj | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime 100 shots | ₩1,500,000 (≈ US$1,130) VAT excluded · Sofwave 100 pulses | — | — |
| Marble Plastic Surgery | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) VAT excluded · Arm liposuction (fee notice starting price) arms | — | — | — | — | ₩8,000,000 (≈ US$6,040) VAT excluded · Facelift (fee notice starting price) |
| MIN Skin Clinic | — | ₩490,000 (≈ US$370) VAT excluded · Onda Full Face 40 kJ | ₩1,200,000 (≈ US$906) VAT excluded · Ultherapy Prime Eyes, Nasolabial Folds or Jawline 200 shots | — | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) VAT excluded · Spiral Thread Lift PDO — V-Line | — |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | — | ₩140,000 (≈ US$106) VAT excluded · ONDA Face, 10 kJ | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) VAT excluded · Ulthera, 100 shots | — | ₩120,000 (≈ US$91) VAT not stated · Mint thread lift, per thread 1 thread | ₩1,980,000 (≈ US$1,490) VAT not stated · Double Chin Muscle Tightening |
| NewRizz Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩350,000 (≈ US$264) VAT excluded · Eye Ultherapy 100 shots | — | ₩80,000 (≈ US$60) VAT excluded · Mono collagen threads, 10 threads | — |
| Oaro Skin Clinic Cheongdam | — | ₩130,000 (≈ US$98) VAT not stated · Onda (fee notice range) | ₩630,000 (≈ US$476) VAT not stated · Ultherapy (fee notice range) | — | — | — |
| Obliv Seoul Origin Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩484,000 (≈ US$365) VAT not stated · Ultherapy PRIME · 100 shots | — | ₩165,000 (≈ US$125) VAT not stated · MINT thread lift | — |
| Re:Berry Skin Clinic Yeongjong | — | ₩800,000 (≈ US$604) VAT excluded · Onda lifting | — | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) VAT excluded · Sofwave · 200 shots | — | — |
| The Walts Clinic | — | ₩290,000 (≈ US$219) VAT excluded · Face ONDA 40 kJ | ₩450,000 (≈ US$340) VAT excluded · Ultherapy PRIME 100 shots | — | ₩63,000 (≈ US$48) VAT excluded · Cavern thread lift (face), 1 thread | — |
| Val:U Skin Clinic Myeongdong | — | ₩590,000 (≈ US$445) VAT excluded · ONDA body lifting · 1 patch (50 kJ) | ₩330,000 (≈ US$249) VAT excluded · Ultherapy · 100 shots | ₩990,000 (≈ US$747) VAT excluded · Sofwave · 100 shots | — | — |
| Will Be Plastic Surgery | — | — | — | — | — | ₩8,000,000 (≈ US$6,040) VAT not stated · Mini facelift |
| YAAN Skin Clinic | — | ₩690,000 (≈ US$521) VAT not stated · Onda lifting · 50000 J 50,000 J | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT not stated · Eye Ultherapy · per 100 shots | ₩1,100,000 (≈ US$831) VAT not stated · Sofwave · per 100 pulses | ₩590,000 (≈ US$445) VAT not stated · Silhouette Soft · 1 thread | — |
| Youngjong Central Skin Clinic | — | ₩330,000 (≈ US$249) VAT excluded · ONDA · 10,000 J | ₩1,875,000 (≈ US$1,420) VAT excluded · Ultherapy · 300 shots (lines) | — | ₩55,000 (≈ US$42) VAT excluded · Thread lift · PDO mono (grid lifting) · per thread 1 thread | — |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | ₩1,500,000 (≈ US$1,130) VAT not stated · Liposuction, one area 1 area | — | — | — | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) VAT not stated · Thread lift (starting price) | — |
Lowest regular price each clinic lists, with its own item and VAT basis.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Is my fullness fat, loose skin, jaw structure or an enlarged gland, and how did you tell?
- For liposuction: which method, who gives the anaesthesia, and when can I fly home?
- For a device: which one, how many sessions, and which areas does the quote cover?
- What if the result is uneven or loose skin remains? Does the written quote include VAT, and is it a package with muscle tightening?
FAQ
Is a double chin always caused by weight?
No. ASPS lists genetics, excess fat and loose skin, sometimes together, and chin structure can contribute. A thread-lift review calls weight gain or localized fat the most common presentation. A doctor examines you to find which applies, because the options differ for fat, skin and structure.
Can non-surgical treatments reduce a double chin?
A 2026 systematic review covers fat-dissolving injections (a prescription medicine), fat freezing, radiofrequency, ultrasound and laser. It found the injections most studied, with mostly mild, temporary side effects and rare skin necrosis and nerve weakness, and the evidence limited by open-label or industry-sponsored studies. ASPS says non-surgical options help carefully selected candidates, more gradually.
Does liposuction tighten loose skin?
ASPS says that for patients with skin laxity or poor elasticity, surgeons typically recommend a neck lift instead of liposuction alone. Removing too much fat can leave contour irregularity and loose skin. The surgeon judges your skin quality before choosing the operation.
Will a double chin come back?
Our sources do not give how often fullness returns after liposuction. For thread lifts, the review says too much fat can bring the fullness back as the lift fades. Ask the clinic what it expects for your fat and skin.
Sources
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS): Double chin liposuction, the key to a chiseled jawline
- Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (PMC): Nonsurgical management of submental fullness for double chin reduction, a systematic review (2026)
- Skin Research and Technology (PMC): Lipolytic agents for submental fat reduction, review (2024)
- Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (PMC): Anatomical consideration for double chin thread lifting (2025)
- Cleveland Clinic: Neck lift (platysmaplasty)
- DEKA (El.En. Group): Onda PRO, the evolution in non-invasive face contouring
- DEKA (El.En. Group): ONDA product page
- Bioengineering (PMC): Microwave-energy-based device for the treatment of cellulite and localized adiposity, recommendations of the Onda Coolwaves International Advisory Board (2024)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: K121700 Ulthera System 510(k) letter and summary (2012)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: K211483 SofWave System 510(k) letter and summary (2021)
- Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology (PMC): Long-term efficacy of micro-focused ultrasound with visualization for lifting and tightening lax facial and neck skin (2016)
