Korean term: 여드름 흉터
What are acne scars
Acne scars form when a deep pimple or other breakout clears and leaves a mark. The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) says most are depressed (sunken) scars. DermNet names three sunken shapes: ice-pick (narrow, V-shaped), boxcar (wide, with defined edges) and rolling (wide, with sloping edges). Raised scars are less common.
A flat spot of color left after acne is usually not a scar but post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, says the AAD. It also says scars can fade but rarely go away completely on their own.
Common causes
- Deep, inflamed acne. DermNet says scarring is more common with moderate to severe acne.
- Picking or squeezing. The AAD and DermNet say this raises the risk.
- Family history. The AAD lists a close relative with acne scars as a risk.
- Smoking. DermNet says research suggests it raises the risk of more severe scarring.
Treatments clinics in Korea list for acne scars
Each card below shows what the treatment is, its downtime as described in the sources, and the lowest regular price a clinic in this directory publishes for it. Potenza passes radiofrequency energy through needles, Sofwave uses ultrasound, and filler is injected under sunken scars. The sources also describe peels, other lasers and microneedling.
Potenza
A Korean radiofrequency (RF) microneedling device: needle tips pass RF energy into the skin, heating and coagulating tissue.
Downtime (per the sources): Temporary redness and tingling; mild, temporary side effects in published series
From ₩99,000 (≈ US$75)JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon · Potenza 1 session (tip charged separately) · VAT excluded
11 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsSofwave
Non-focused ultrasound sent in parallel beams to heat the dermis and stimulate collagen.
Downtime (per the sources): Maker: daily activities can resume immediately; two studies report pain of about 5.6 and 6.6 out of 10
From ₩500,000 (≈ US$378)Beauty Park Skin Clinic Beomeo · Eye Sofwave · 50 shots · VAT excluded
8 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsFiller
Injectable gel, most often hyaluronic acid (HA), used to smooth wrinkles and restore volume.
Downtime (per the sources): Swelling and bruising soon after injection; many settle within days to weeks
From ₩29,000 (≈ US$22)Art of Shine Skin Clinic · Body Filler 1cc · VAT excluded
19 clinics in this directory list a regular price
All prices and clinicsWhat the sources say about results and limits
- Limited evidence. A 2016 Cochrane review of 24 small trials (789 adults) found no high-quality evidence favoring any treatment. It found moderate-quality evidence that injectable filler might be effective for sunken scars; no study followed patients beyond 48 weeks. Which fillers are approved in Korea for scars is not confirmed in our sources, so ask for the product.
- Radiofrequency and laser. A 2026 meta-analysis of 8 studies (249 patients) found fractional CO2 laser gave slightly more improvement than microneedling radiofrequency, with more pain, longer redness and more post-inflammatory darkening. Follow-up was 2 to 3 months. The Potenza page covers its regulatory status and the FDA's 2025 safety communication on RF microneedling.
- Ultrasound. Sofwave's 2025 US FDA clearance lists acne scars. We did not confirm trial data for that use in our sources.
- Sessions. The AAD says laser results can take months; DermNet says multiple treatments may be required.
- Risks. DermNet lists redness or darkening, infection and further scarring. Raised scars often recur. It says active acne should be treated first.
Published prices
The table shows, for each clinic that lists a regular price, its lowest regular price for each treatment above; items, amounts and VAT basis differ between clinics.
| Clinic | Potenza | Sofwave | Filler |
|---|---|---|---|
| Art of Shine Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩29,000 (≈ US$22) VAT excluded · Body Filler 1cc |
| Beauty Park Skin Clinic Beomeo | — | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Eye Sofwave · 50 shots | ₩90,000 (≈ US$68) VAT excluded · Filler · 아띠에르 (Korean brand) · 1 cc |
| Bellis Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩176,000 (≈ US$133) VAT included · Shoulder filler 1 cc (Korean brand, add-on) |
| DAMI Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Korean filler (Byrizn, Rejuviel, YVOIRE) 1 cc |
| DayBeau Skin Clinic Myeongdong Premium | ₩250,000 (≈ US$189) VAT excluded · Potenza, 1 session (full face, 1 disposable tip included) | ₩990,000 (≈ US$747) VAT excluded · Sofwave 100 pulses (aftercare included) | ₩100,000 (≈ US$76) VAT excluded · Filler dissolving injection, high-purity liquid hyaluronidase 1cc |
| EU:GENES Skin Clinic | ₩250,000 (≈ US$189) VAT excluded · Potenza pumping tip | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) VAT excluded · Sofwave 50 count 50 shots | — |
| JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo | — | — | ₩39,000 (≈ US$29) VAT excluded · Chin filler 1 cc (Atiere) |
| JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon | ₩99,000 (≈ US$75) VAT excluded · Potenza 1 session (tip charged separately) | ₩900,000 (≈ US$680) VAT excluded · Sofwave 100 shots | ₩39,000 (≈ US$29) VAT excluded · Chin filler 1 cc (Attierre) |
| Kleam Skin Clinic Myeongdong | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) VAT excluded · Potenza (Pore/Redness/Acne) 500 shots | ₩1,500,000 (≈ US$1,130) VAT excluded · Sofwave 100 pulses | ₩70,000 (≈ US$53) VAT excluded · Body Filler Korean 1cc (when 200cc or more) |
| Louave Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩150,000 (≈ US$113) VAT included · Filler (starting price, fee notice) |
| MIN Skin Clinic | ₩400,000 (≈ US$302) VAT excluded · Potenza Full Face 1 session | — | ₩290,000 (≈ US$219) VAT excluded · Mouth Corner Filler |
| Newline Plastic Surgery | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Potenza N Tip, one session (tip included) | — | ₩90,000 (≈ US$68) VAT excluded · Lip corner filler, S type |
| NewRizz Skin Clinic | — | — | ₩139,000 (≈ US$105) VAT excluded · Neuramis (Korean filler) 1 cc |
| Oaro Skin Clinic Cheongdam | — | — | ₩320,000 (≈ US$242) VAT not stated · Filler (fee notice range) |
| Obliv Seoul Origin Skin Clinic | ₩374,000 (≈ US$282) VAT not stated · Potenza RF microneedling | — | ₩242,000 (≈ US$183) VAT not stated · HA filler · Korean product |
| Re:Berry Skin Clinic Yeongjong | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) VAT excluded · Potenza · 300 shots | ₩2,500,000 (≈ US$1,890) VAT excluded · Sofwave · 200 shots | — |
| The Walts Clinic | ₩190,000 (≈ US$143) VAT excluded · Potenza, 1 session (tip fee ₩55,000 extra) | — | ₩200,000 (≈ US$151) VAT excluded · Volume filler, Korean (Chaeum Premium / EPTQ) 1 cc |
| Val:U Skin Clinic Myeongdong | — | ₩990,000 (≈ US$747) VAT excluded · Sofwave · 100 shots | ₩70,000 (≈ US$53) VAT excluded · Filler dissolving (hyaluronidase) · filler done at this clinic · 1 cc |
| YAAN Skin Clinic | ₩400,000 (≈ US$302) VAT not stated · Potenza pore tip treatment | ₩1,100,000 (≈ US$831) VAT not stated · Sofwave · per 100 pulses | ₩290,000 (≈ US$219) VAT excluded · Korean filler · 1 cc |
| Youngjong Central Skin Clinic | ₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755) VAT excluded · Potenza · full face (scar section; treatment care not included) | — | ₩250,000 (≈ US$189) VAT excluded · Filler · Korean brand · 1 cc (forehead, front cheeks, chin, nasolabial folds, side cheeks) |
| YUNO Plastic Surgery | — | — | ₩150,000 (≈ US$113) VAT not stated · Filler (starting price) |
Lowest regular price each clinic lists, with its own item and VAT basis.
Questions to ask the clinic
- What type of scars do I have, and is my acne under control?
- Which device or product, and what does the quote cover (shots, passes, syringes)?
- How many sessions and how far apart? Does the price cover one session or a package?
- What are the risks for my skin tone, such as dark marks?
- What happens if the result is not as planned? Is the written quote with VAT?
FAQ
Can acne scars be removed completely?
Not according to the sources. The AAD says acne scars can fade but rarely go away completely on their own, and that laser treatment cannot get rid of a scar but can make it less noticeable. A doctor judges what improvement is realistic for your scar type.
Is a dark mark after acne a scar?
Usually not. The AAD says a flat spot of color left after acne clears is usually post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, not a scar. DermNet says it is more common in skin of color. Scars leave sunken or raised areas, and a doctor can tell the two apart, because the treatments differ.
How many sessions do acne scars need?
It varies. The AAD gives 3 to 5 microneedling sessions every 2 to 4 weeks as an example, and says non-ablative laser usually needs a series, with results taking months. DermNet says multiple treatments may be required. Your doctor decides the number after examining your scars.
Should acne be treated before scars?
Yes, according to DermNet: active acne should be treated before scar management starts. The AAD adds that picking or squeezing breakouts raises scarring risk, and that treating acne early can prevent the deeper breakouts that are more likely to scar.
Sources
- American Academy of Dermatology: Acne scars: Overview
- American Academy of Dermatology: 10 things to know before having laser treatment for your scar
- American Academy of Dermatology: Microneedling can fade scars, uneven skin tone, and more
- DermNet: Acne Scarring
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2016: Interventions for acne scars (Abdel Hay R et al.)
- Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2026: Fractional CO2 Laser Versus Micro Needling Radiofrequency for Post Acne Scarring: A Meta-Analysis of RCTs (Argobi Y et al.)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: 510(k) K250146 – SofWave System (letter and 510(k) summary)
