Skin tone and texture

Large pores: why they look large and what clinics in Korea list for them

Large pores are the visible openings of oil and sweat ducts in facial skin. Clinics in Korea list Potenza radiofrequency microneedling and skin Botox (many tiny toxin injections in the skin) for them. The sources say treatments aimed at shrinking pores are not very effective.

Korean term: 모공

What are large pores

DermNet describes enlarged pores as depressions in the facial skin surface, with openings to oil (sebaceous) and sweat ducts. They occur at all ages and in all ethnic groups, and often look larger with age. DermNet says people of African and Indian ancestry may have larger pores. A dermatologist can assess whether oily skin, acne or sagging skin is behind the look.

Common causes

  • More oil. DermNet lists higher sebum (oil) production and hair follicle size.
  • Clogged pores. The AAD says pores expand when they clog. DermNet adds pore-clogging skin products.
  • Inflammatory acne. DermNet says it can weaken the pore openings.
  • Sun damage and loss of firmness. The AAD says pores look larger when skin sags. DermNet lists sun damage and loss of elasticity.

Treatments clinics in Korea list for large pores

Each card below shows what the treatment is, its downtime as described in the sources, and the lowest regular price a clinic in this directory publishes for it. Potenza passes radiofrequency energy through needles; skin Botox places diluted toxin in the skin. The sources also describe skin care at home, peels and other lasers.

Potenza

A Korean radiofrequency (RF) microneedling device: needle tips pass RF energy into the skin, heating and coagulating tissue.

Downtime (per the sources): Temporary redness and tingling; mild, temporary side effects in published series

From ₩99,000 (≈ US$75)JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon · Potenza 1 session (tip charged separately) · VAT excluded

11 clinics in this directory list a regular price

All prices and clinics

Skin Botox (baby Botox)

Tiny droplets of diluted botulinum toxin injected into the skin, not deep into muscle, to improve texture and sheen.

Downtime (per the sources): Small raised bumps after injection; temporary muscle weakness possible if too deep, usually settling in 2 to 3 weeks

From ₩20,000 (≈ US$15)JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon · Skin Botox, Korean toxin (Newlux), 1 session · VAT excluded

12 clinics in this directory list a regular price

All prices and clinics

What the sources say about results and limits

  • Shrinking pores is hard. DermNet says treatments that focus on preventing and shrinking large pores are not very effective. It lists chemical peels, laser treatment and radiofrequency microneedling among options. The AAD lists large pores among the uses of microneedling.
  • Potenza. Our sources hold no study of Potenza for pores; the studies we found cover melasma and acne.
  • Skin Botox. A 2022 review calls microdroplet toxin a common off-label use. It says a single session improves dilated pores only briefly, with repeat sessions needed about every 3 to 4 months. If toxin reaches deeper muscle, temporary weakness can occur and usually settles within 2 to 3 weeks.
  • Other lasers. In a Thai study of 25 patients with no control group, three picosecond laser sessions with a lens array, four weeks apart, lowered pore volume by about 30% at 6 months; redness and swelling lasted about 4 days.
  • Home care. The AAD advises daily sunscreen, gentle cleansing with non-comedogenic products, and not picking or squeezing pores.

Published prices

The table shows, for each clinic that lists a regular price, its lowest regular price for each treatment above; items, amounts and VAT basis differ between clinics.

ClinicPotenzaSkin Botox (baby Botox)
Art of Shine Skin Clinic—₩275,000 (≈ US$208)
VAT excluded · Imported skin Botox (Xeomin) 3cc
Beauty Park Skin Clinic Beomeo—₩80,000 (≈ US$60)
VAT excluded · Skin Botox · full face · Korean toxin
Bellis Skin Clinic—₩66,000 (≈ US$50)
VAT included · Skin Botox 1 cc (Coretox)
DAMI Skin Clinic—₩200,000 (≈ US$151)
VAT excluded · Skin Botox (full face), Botulax
DayBeau Skin Clinic Myeongdong Premium₩250,000 (≈ US$189)
VAT excluded · Potenza, 1 session (full face, 1 disposable tip included)
₩70,000 (≈ US$53)
VAT excluded · Forehead / cheek pore skin Botox (Korean toxin) forehead or cheeks
EU:GENES Skin Clinic₩250,000 (≈ US$189)
VAT excluded · Potenza pumping tip
—
JRYN Skin Clinic Nampo—₩90,000 (≈ US$68)
VAT excluded · Skin Botox 1 cc (Allergan)
JRYN Skin Clinic Seomyeon₩99,000 (≈ US$75)
VAT excluded · Potenza 1 session (tip charged separately)
₩20,000 (≈ US$15)
VAT excluded · Skin Botox, Korean toxin (Newlux), 1 session
Kleam Skin Clinic Myeongdong₩300,000 (≈ US$227)
VAT excluded · Potenza (Pore/Redness/Acne) 500 shots
₩300,000 (≈ US$227)
VAT excluded · Full Face Skin Botox (Korean) 1 session
MIN Skin Clinic₩400,000 (≈ US$302)
VAT excluded · Potenza Full Face 1 session
₩400,000 (≈ US$302)
VAT excluded · Skin Botox Full Face — Domestic toxin
Newline Plastic Surgery₩200,000 (≈ US$151)
VAT excluded · Potenza N Tip, one session (tip included)
—
NewRizz Skin Clinic—₩120,000 (≈ US$91)
VAT excluded · Korean standard toxin "뉴럭스": skin Botox, V-line
Obliv Seoul Origin Skin Clinic₩374,000 (≈ US$282)
VAT not stated · Potenza RF microneedling
—
Re:Berry Skin Clinic Yeongjong₩600,000 (≈ US$453)
VAT excluded · Potenza · 300 shots
—
The Walts Clinic₩190,000 (≈ US$143)
VAT excluded · Potenza, 1 session (tip fee ₩55,000 extra)
—
Val:U Skin Clinic Myeongdong—₩90,000 (≈ US$68)
VAT excluded · Skin Botox (Dermotoxin) · full face · Newlux (Korean)
YAAN Skin Clinic₩400,000 (≈ US$302)
VAT not stated · Potenza pore tip treatment
—
Youngjong Central Skin Clinic₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755)
VAT excluded · Potenza · full face (scar section; treatment care not included)
₩125,000 (≈ US$94)
VAT excluded · Liztox skin Botox · 1 cc

Lowest regular price each clinic lists, with its own item and VAT basis.

Questions to ask the clinic

  • Are my pores large because of oil, acne or sagging skin, and how did you decide?
  • Which device or toxin brand, and how many units or passes does the quote cover?
  • How many sessions and how far apart? How long should the effect last, and what downtime should I expect?
  • Is this an off-label use, and what happens if the result is not as planned?
  • Is the written quote with VAT?

FAQ

Can large pores be shrunk?

Not reliably, according to DermNet, which says treatments that focus on preventing and shrinking large pores are not very effective. The AAD says clogged pores and sagging skin make pores look larger, and describes gentle cleansing, daily sunscreen and treating acne as home steps.

Does skin Botox shrink pores?

A 2022 review says a single session improves dilated pores for a short time, so repeat treatment is needed about every 3 to 4 months. The use is off-label, and temporary muscle weakness is possible if toxin spreads deeper. Korean regulatory approval for this use is not confirmed in our sources.

Can microneedling help large pores?

The AAD lists large pores among the concerns dermatologists treat with microneedling, and DermNet lists radiofrequency microneedling among procedures for enlarged pores. Neither gives results for pores, and our sources hold no study of Potenza for pores. Ask the clinic what it expects and how many sessions it advises.

Do pores get larger with age?

DermNet says pores often appear larger with age, and lists loss of skin elasticity and sun damage among the contributing factors. The AAD says pores look larger when skin sags, and recommends daily sunscreen to limit the sun damage that weakens skin.

Sources