Key facts
| Korean name | 스케일링 |
|---|---|
| What it is | Professional removal of tartar and bacteria from tooth surfaces and below the gumline. |
| Maker | Not applicable: a dental procedure |
| Korea (MFDS) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| United States (FDA) | Not applicable: a procedure, not a product |
| Downtime | Not confirmed in our sources |
| Sessions | NHIS advises scaling at least once a year |
| Clinics in this directory | 4 |
| Published regular prices (lowest) | ₩30,000 (≈ US$23) — A Plus Dental Clinic, Child scaling, VAT not stated |
| Published regular prices (highest) | ₩80,000 (≈ US$60) — A Plus Dental Clinic, Scaling, full mouth (non-insured), VAT not stated |
| Prices checked | 29 October 2026 |
Facts come from the sources listed on this page; prices from the clinics' own price lists, checked up to 29 October 2026. Prices differ in product, amount and VAT basis.
What is scaling
In Korean the treatment is called 스케일링 (seukeillingg), and the National Health Insurance Service (NHIS) also calls it 치석 제거 (tartar removal). Mayo Clinic says scaling removes tartar and bacteria from your tooth surfaces and below your gumline. It may be done with hand instruments, a laser or an ultrasonic device. Root planing is a separate, deeper step that smooths the root surfaces.
A Korean government briefing from 2021 says tartar removal targets a main cause of gum (periodontal) disease. The NHIS advises having scaling at least once a year.
Anaesthesia and recovery
We found no authoritative source on anaesthesia or recovery after scaling, so this page makes no statement on them. Ask the dentist whether numbing is used, who will give it and what to expect afterwards.
How clinics in Korea price scaling
- Per session. Lists price one session. Many separate the full mouth from one arch or a section of an arch, such as one third of an arch. Check which one the price covers.
- Adult and child. Some clinics list child scaling at a lower price than adult scaling. The lowest price in the key-facts box can therefore be a child or partial scaling.
- "Non-insured". Items labelled non-insured (비급여, bigeubyeo) are the prices paid by people who do not use the insurance benefit. This is the price a visitor should expect.
- VAT. Most dental prices in the table show "VAT not stated". "부가세 별도" (bugase byeoldo) means VAT is added on top of the listed price. Our sources do not say how VAT applies to scaling, so ask whether it is included.
Insurance cover (as of October 2026)
According to the NHIS, national health insurance covers one scaling per calendar year (1 January to 31 December) for insured people aged 19 and over, when the visit is for scaling only. A second scaling in the same year is non-covered and charged at the full price. For people under 19, scaling is covered only as a step before gum-disease surgery. The 2021 government briefing says the patient pays a 30% co-payment. The fee schedule changes each year, so this page gives no amount.
Cover depends on being enrolled in the National Health Insurance. Under the National Health Insurance Act (article 109), foreign nationals enrol through alien registration plus residence conditions set in ministry rules, which we did not check. Visitors who are not enrolled pay the clinic's non-covered price, which is what the table below shows. Confirm the current rules on the NHIS page on yearly scaling.
Published prices
The table shows each clinic's published prices by item, unit and VAT basis. The items differ in how much of the mouth they cover and in whether they are for adults or children, so compare like with like.
| Clinic | Item | Unit | Price (KRW) | VAT | Type | Valid until | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Scaling, full mouth (non-insured) | per session | ₩80,000 (≈ US$60) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Child scaling full mouth | per session | ₩30,000 (≈ US$23) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Scaling, one arch (non-insured) 1 arch | per session | ₩40,000 (≈ US$30) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Scaling, one third of an arch (non-insured) 1/3 arch | per session | ₩30,000 (≈ US$23) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| Lucid Dental Clinic | Scaling, full mouth (non-insured fee) | per session | ₩59,000 (≈ US$45) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | Scaling, full mouth (non-insured) | per session | ₩50,000 (≈ US$38) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Yonsei Heal Dental Hospital | Scaling, adult (non-insured) | per session | ₩50,000 (≈ US$38) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Yonsei Heal Dental Hospital | Scaling, child (non-insured) | per session | ₩30,000 (≈ US$23) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
Downtime and aftercare
Our sources give no recovery or aftercare guidance for scaling, so we do not state any. Two points come from the sources:
- The NHIS advises scaling at least once a year, together with regular dental check-ups.
- Mayo Clinic describes root planing as a separate, deeper step. If the dentist finds gum disease, ask what further treatment is advised and what it would cost before you agree.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Does the price cover the full mouth, one arch or a section?
- Is it scaling only, or does it include deeper cleaning below the gumline (root planing) or other gum treatment?
- Which method will be used: hand instruments, an ultrasonic device or a laser?
- Is this the non-insured price? Do I need to be enrolled in Korean insurance to use a lower price?
- Are the examination, X-rays or a consultation charged separately?
- How long does the visit take, and is any follow-up visit advised?
- Is VAT included? Is this a regular or an event price?
Compare and read more
Related pages from this directory:
Clinics that list scaling
These clinics in this directory publish scaling prices. Each card links to the clinic's listing.
Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil
스탠다드치과의원 잠실본점
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
FAQ
How much does scaling cost in Korea?
Korean clinics price scaling per session. Many separate the full mouth from one arch or a section, and some list child scaling lower than adult scaling. The items labelled non-insured show what a person pays without the insurance benefit. The table on this page shows each clinic's published prices with the VAT basis and the date they were checked.
Does Korean insurance cover scaling for visitors?
Korea's national health insurance covers one scaling per calendar year for enrolled people aged 19 and over (as of October 2026). Foreign nationals enrol through alien registration and residence conditions. Visitors who are not enrolled pay the clinic's non-covered price. Confirm the current rules on the NHIS website.
How often should I have scaling?
The NHIS advises scaling at least once a year. Its insurance benefit covers one scaling per calendar year, from 1 January to 31 December, for insured people aged 19 and over. A further scaling in the same year is non-covered and charged at the full price. Your dentist advises on how often you need it.
What is the difference between scaling and root planing?
Mayo Clinic says scaling removes tartar and bacteria from the tooth surfaces and below the gumline. Root planing is a separate step that smooths the root surfaces. Clinics may price them separately. Ask whether a quoted scaling price includes any deeper cleaning, and what the dentist advises for your gums.
Can children have scaling in Korea?
Some clinics list child scaling as a separate item. For insured people under 19, the NHIS says scaling is covered only as a step before gum-disease surgery. Children visiting from abroad who are not enrolled pay the clinic's non-covered price. Ask the clinic about its child price and what the visit includes.
Sources
- National Health Insurance Service (NHIS), 국민건강보험공단: Health Insurance Webzine, April 2024, scaling once a year
- Korea.kr (Policy Briefing), 대한민국 정책브리핑: Scaling once a year under health insurance (3 August 2021)
- Mayo Clinic: Periodontitis, diagnosis and treatment
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): National Health Insurance Act, article 109 (special provisions for foreigners)
Prices in the table are the regular prices that clinics in this directory publish on their own price lists, checked at each update.




