Key facts
| Korean name | 크라운 |
|---|---|
| What it is | A tooth-shaped cap fitted over a whole tooth, made from materials such as zirconia, porcelain or metal. |
| Maker | Not applicable: a custom-made restoration in zirconia, porcelain or metal |
| Korea (MFDS) | Not confirmed in our sources |
| United States (FDA) | Not confirmed in our sources |
| Downtime | Some sensitivity for a couple of weeks is normal, especially to heat and cold (Cleveland Clinic) |
| Sessions | Usually two appointments; one visit for a same-day CAD/CAM crown (Cleveland Clinic) |
| Clinics in this directory | 4 |
| Published regular prices (lowest) | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) — Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil, Crown, other materials, VAT not stated |
| Published regular prices (highest) | ₩1,400,000 (≈ US$1,060) — A Plus Dental Clinic, PFG crown (porcelain fused to gold), VAT not stated |
| Prices checked | 29 October 2026 |
Facts come from the sources listed on this page; prices from the clinics' own price lists, checked up to 29 October 2026. Prices differ in product, amount and VAT basis.
What is a dental crown
In Korean the item is called 크라운 (keurauen). The Cleveland Clinic describes a dental crown as a tooth-shaped cap. The main materials are:
- PFM (porcelain fused to metal). It combines the durability of metal with the natural look of porcelain. Korean health insurance documents call it 비귀금속도재관 (PFM crown).
- Zirconia. Zirconia crowns are extremely durable and can withstand heavier forces than other types of ceramic crown.
- All-ceramic or porcelain. These crowns look more like natural tooth enamel than any other crown type.
- Metal. Dental technicians make metal crowns from gold, palladium, nickel or chromium.
- PFG (porcelain fused to gold). Korean clinics list this as its own item. We have no neutral source on it, so ask the clinic what it means in its price list.
How many visits. Placing a crown usually takes two appointments. At the first, the dentist prepares the tooth and takes impressions. At the second, the final crown is fitted. A temporary crown, usually resin or acrylic, is worn in between. A same-day crown made with CAD/CAM needs only one visit, but it is not suitable for everyone (Cleveland Clinic).
Anaesthesia
The Cleveland Clinic says anaesthesia is used during crown preparation and the dentist can give more if you feel pain. Our sources do not say who gives it in Korean clinics, so ask. The doctor decides after an examination which material and which kind of crown suit the tooth.
How clinics in Korea price dental crowns
- Per tooth, by material. Lists give a price per tooth for each material. The order of prices differs between clinics, so no single material is always the highest or the lowest priced. Compare the same material across clinics.
- Natural tooth or implant. Some lists price a crown on a natural tooth separately from a crown on an implant. Many implant prices already include the crown. See our dental implant page.
- Ranges and other items. Some lists show a range for "other materials", and one clinic lists an extra bridge unit (pontic) as an item. The lowest and highest prices in the key-facts box can therefore be for different materials or items.
- VAT. Most dental prices in the table show "VAT not stated". "부가세 별도" (bugase byeoldo) means VAT is added on top of the listed price. Our sources do not say how VAT applies to crowns, so ask whether it is included.
Insurance cover (as of October 2026)
Crowns are mostly paid privately in Korea. In the Ministry of Health and Welfare's data on non-covered charges for March 2024, zirconia crowns were the second-largest non-covered dental item. The exception is the crown on an implant that the national health insurance covers (people aged 65 and over, up to 2 implants). That crown is covered as part of the implant. The covered material was PFM, and a December 2024 decision added zirconia, but the release gives no start date, so we cannot confirm when it applies. We found no National Health Insurance Service (NHIS) or HIRA rule on crowns outside implants.
Cover depends on being enrolled in the National Health Insurance. Foreign nationals enrol through alien registration plus residence conditions set in ministry rules, which we did not check. Visitors who are not enrolled pay the clinic's non-covered price, which is what the table below shows. Confirm the current rules on the NHIS implant page.
Published prices
The table shows each clinic's published prices by item, unit and VAT basis. The items differ in material, so compare like with like.
| Clinic | Item | Unit | Price (KRW) | VAT | Type | Valid until | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Zirconia crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩810,000 (≈ US$612) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | All-ceramic crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩870,000 (≈ US$657) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Gold crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩1,400,000 (≈ US$1,060) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | PFG crown (porcelain fused to gold) 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩1,400,000 (≈ US$1,060) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| A Plus Dental Clinic | Additional pontic 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩450,000 (≈ US$340) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| Lucid Dental Clinic | Zirconia crown (natural tooth) 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩950,000 (≈ US$717) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| Lucid Dental Clinic | All-ceramic crown (natural tooth) 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩950,000 (≈ US$717) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 28 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | Zirconia crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | All-ceramic crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | Gold crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | PFG crown (porcelain fused to gold) 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | PFM crown (porcelain fused to metal) 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩400,000 (≈ US$302) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | Metal crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩400,000 (≈ US$302) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil | Crown, other materials 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩300,000 (≈ US$227) – ₩800,000 (≈ US$604) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 23 October 2026 |
| Yonsei Heal Dental Hospital | Zirconia crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩500,000 (≈ US$378) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Yonsei Heal Dental Hospital | All-ceramic crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩600,000 (≈ US$453) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
| Yonsei Heal Dental Hospital | Gold crown 1 tooth | per tooth | ₩1,000,000 (≈ US$755) | VAT not stated | Regular | — | 29 October 2026 |
Downtime and aftercare
- Temporary crown. If you need two appointments, you wear a temporary crown between them. Ask how many days apart the visits can be and whether that fits your stay.
- Sensitivity. The Cleveland Clinic says some sensitivity for a couple of weeks is normal, especially to heat and cold.
- Flying and records. We found no source on flying after dental treatment. Ask the dentist for your records and X-rays before you leave. See our guide to receipts and medical records.
Questions to ask the clinic
- Which material will be used for this tooth, and why? What are the other options?
- Is the price for a crown on a natural tooth or on an implant? Does it include tooth preparation, a temporary crown and X-rays?
- Will it take one visit (same-day CAD/CAM) or two? How many days apart, and does that fit my stay?
- Is the crown made in the clinic or by a dental laboratory?
- What happens if it chips, loosens or needs to be remade? Ask for the terms in writing.
- What anaesthesia will be used, and who gives it?
- Is VAT included? Is this a regular or an event price?
Compare and read more
Related pages from this directory:
Clinics that list dental crowns
These clinics in this directory publish crown prices. Each card links to the clinic's listing.
Standard Dental Clinic Jamsil
스탠다드치과의원 잠실본점
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
FAQ
How much does a dental crown cost in Korea?
Korean clinics price crowns per tooth, and the price depends mainly on the material: zirconia, all-ceramic, PFM, metal, gold or PFG. The order of prices differs between clinics, and some lists show a range for other materials. The table on this page shows each clinic's published prices with the VAT basis and the date they were checked.
What is the difference between zirconia, PFM and gold crowns?
The Cleveland Clinic says zirconia crowns are extremely durable and can withstand heavier forces than other ceramic crowns. PFM crowns combine the durability of metal with the look of porcelain. Metal crowns can be made from gold, palladium, nickel or chromium. All-ceramic crowns look most like natural enamel. Your dentist decides which suits the tooth.
Does Korean insurance cover dental crowns for visitors?
Crowns are mostly paid privately in Korea. The main exception is the crown on a national-health-insurance-covered implant, available to enrolled people aged 65 and over (as of October 2026). Foreign nationals enrol through alien registration and residence conditions. Visitors who are not enrolled pay the clinic's non-covered price. Confirm the rules on the NHIS website.
How many visits does a crown need?
The Cleveland Clinic says placing a crown usually takes two appointments: tooth preparation and impressions, then fitting the final crown, with a temporary crown in between. A same-day crown made with CAD/CAM needs one visit but is not suitable for everyone. Ask the clinic which it offers and how many days apart the visits are.
Is sensitivity normal after a crown?
The Cleveland Clinic says some sensitivity for a couple of weeks is normal, especially to heat and cold. Anaesthesia is used during preparation, and the dentist can give more if you feel pain. Ask your dentist what to expect in your own case.
Sources
- Cleveland Clinic: Dental crowns, types, procedure and care
- Ministry of Health and Welfare (보건복지부): Analysis of non-covered charge reports, March 2024 (press release, 6 January 2025)
- Ministry of Health and Welfare (보건복지부): Press release on implant prosthetic materials and decay tests, 27 December 2024
- National Health Insurance Service (NHIS), 국민건강보험공단: Dental implant cover guide, 치과임플란트 급여안내
- National Law Information Center (Ministry of Government Legislation): National Health Insurance Act, article 109 (special provisions for foreigners)
Prices in the table are the regular prices that clinics in this directory publish on their own price lists, checked at each update.




