Orthopedic clinicMyeongdong, SeoulHIRA-registered

Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong: orthopedic clinic in Myeongdong (Euljiro 1-ga), Seoul

릴리프정형외과의원

Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong (릴리프정형외과의원) is an orthopedic clinic in Samgak-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul, on the north side of Euljiro across from the Myeongdong shopping streets, a 2-minute walk (127 m) from Euljiro 1-ga Station (Line 2) Exit 3, and Korea's HIRA registry lists 3 doctors there, all specialists: 2 board-certified orthopedic surgeons and 1 ophthalmology specialist (October 2026). The clinic says both orthopedic surgeons consult in English and that it answers on WhatsApp (+82-10-4881-8634); its main phone line is +82-2-6959-6891. Its Korean fee notice, which is undated and does not state VAT, lists shockwave therapy at ₩50,000–₩180,000 and prolotherapy at ₩50,000–₩170,000 per session. (As of October 2026.)

Key facts

FactDetail
TypeOrthopedic clinic. Registered with HIRA as a clinic (의원) on 23 June 2026 (date shown in Kakao Map's HIRA panel); HIRA lists no operating rooms or beds and 3 physical therapists
AreaSamgak-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul, at Euljiro 1-ga Station. The clinic describes its location as Myeongdong; the Myeongdong shopping streets are across Euljiro to the south
Address3F, Rooms 302–304, Gyeonggi Building, 9 Namdaemun-ro 10-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04540, South Korea. Starbucks is on the ground floor (Korean: 서울특별시 중구 남대문로10길 9, 경기빌딩 3층 302~304호 (삼각동))
Nearest station and exitEuljiro 1-ga Station (Line 2), Exit 3: 127 m, about 2 minutes' walk. The clinic says Myeongdong Station (Line 4) is an 8–10-minute walk
Doctors3 registered with HIRA, all specialists: orthopedic surgery 2, ophthalmology 1 (October 2026)
LanguagesKorean. English with both orthopedic surgeons and at the front desk, and Chinese through WeChat, as the clinic states
ContactWhatsApp +82-10-4881-8634 · phone +82-2-6959-6891 · Naver booking · KakaoTalk channel · WeChat by QR code on the official website. No email address is published
HoursMon–Fri 09:00–19:30, last registration 19:10 · Sat 09:00–13:00 · no lunch break · closed Sundays and public holidays
Leading treatmentsShockwave therapy · Prolotherapy · Pain injection (image-guided) · PRP injection · Joint injection (hyaluronic acid) · Stretch and spray therapy · Manual therapy (physical therapy)
PaymentForeign credit cards, as the clinic states; Naver easy payment (Naver Map). Prices are in KRW
Last verified28 October 2026

Leading treatments

Shockwave therapy

Extracorporeal shockwave therapy (ESWT) sends pressure waves through the skin to a painful tendon or joint. Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong offers focused and radial shockwave, and its Korean website names BTL devices. The clinic says the treatment needs no surgery or anesthesia and is usually given as a series of sessions over several weeks, depending on the condition. Its Korean fee notice lists shockwave therapy at ₩50,000–₩180,000 per session and does not say what sets the price within the range. VAT is not stated.

Prolotherapy

Prolotherapy (프롤로치료) is a series of injections into damaged ligaments or tendons. The clinic gives it under ultrasound guidance, and its Korean website says the concentration of the solution is tailored to each patient. The fee notice lists prolotherapy at ₩50,000–₩170,000 per session and does not say what sets the price, such as the number of injection sites. VAT is not stated.

Pain injection (image-guided)

The clinic gives injections into joints, tendons, nerves and the spine under ultrasound or C-arm (live X-ray) guidance, including nerve hydrodissection and injections for neck and lower-back disc problems. It says an injection visit takes about 15–30 minutes, including preparation and observation, with a local anesthetic when appropriate. It says steroids are used only when needed, at the lowest effective dose, after explanation and consent. HIRA lists 3 ultrasound units at the clinic. No price is published; the fee notice prices individual drugs only.

PRP injection

PRP (platelet-rich plasma) is a concentrate of platelets from the patient's own blood. The clinic's English website offers PRP injections under ultrasound guidance. Its Korean website and fee notice do not mention PRP, and no price is published, so ask the clinic before you book.

Joint injection (hyaluronic acid)

A hyaluronic acid injection (viscosupplementation) puts a lubricating gel into a joint. The clinic's English website offers it under ultrasound guidance. No price is published.

Stretch and spray therapy

Stretch and spray therapy (신장분사치료) combines a cold aerosol spray with stretching for muscle and fascia pain. The clinic's Korean website names a BTL device for it. The fee notice lists it at ₩20,000–₩240,000 per session and does not explain the range. VAT is not stated.

Manual therapy (physical therapy)

The clinic's English website describes physical therapy with manual therapy, therapeutic exercise and gait analysis. HIRA lists 3 physical therapists at the clinic. The fee notice gives no price for manual therapy. It lists a motion analysis test (동작분석검사) at ₩80,000 per session, which this listing takes to be the gait analysis on the English website.

Prices

Prices are from the clinic's Korean fee notice, the list of non-insured prices Korean clinics must publish. The notice has no effective date, does not state VAT and says prices may change, so confirm them by phone. The English website publishes no prices. No event or discount prices were found. Image-guided injections, PRP, hyaluronic acid injections and manual therapy have no published price. Approximate US dollar amounts use the exchange rate of 23 October 2026.

TreatmentUnitPrice (KRW)Approx. USDVATTypeValid untilChecked
Shockwave therapy (ESWT)per session₩50,000–₩180,000≈ US$38–136VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
Prolotherapyper session₩50,000–₩170,000≈ US$38–128VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
Stretch and spray therapyper session₩20,000–₩240,000≈ US$15–181VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026

Doctors

  • Dr. Sungbae Kim, chief director and orthopedic surgeon at Relief Orthopedics MyeongdongSungbae KimChief director (대표원장), orthopedic surgeon; representative of the clinic
  • Dr. Hoeyoung Kwon, chief director and orthopedic surgeon at Relief Orthopedics MyeongdongHoeyoung KwonChief director (대표원장), orthopedic surgeon

Korea's HIRA registry (Health Insurance Review and Assessment Service) lists 3 doctors at Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong, all specialists: 2 in orthopedic surgery and 1 in ophthalmology (October 2026). HIRA does not publish names. The clinic names two orthopedic surgeons, which matches HIRA's orthopedic count; it does not name the ophthalmology specialist, and ophthalmology is not one of the clinic's HIRA departments.

  • Dr. Sungbae Kim (김성배), chief director and representative of the clinic, board-certified orthopedic surgeon. The clinic says Dr. Kim graduated from Wonkwang University, completed an internship and orthopedic residency at Wonkwang University Hospital and a foot and ankle fellowship at Seoul Paik Hospital, and is a member of the Korean Orthopaedic Association and the Korean Foot and Ankle Society.
  • Dr. Hoeyoung Kwon (권회영), chief director, board-certified orthopedic surgeon. The clinic says Dr. Kwon studied at Wonkwang University College of Medicine, completed an internship and orthopedic residency at Wonkwang University Hospital, and took courses in prolotherapy with the Korean Pain Society and in shockwave therapy.

The clinic says both orthopedic surgeons consult in English.

Getting there

  • Nearest exit: Euljiro 1-ga Station (Line 2), Exit 3, 127 m, about 2 minutes' walk (Kakao Map; Naver Map gives 100 m). The station's Korean name is 을지로입구역.
  • Building: Gyeonggi Building, with Starbucks on the ground floor; the clinic is on the 3rd floor, rooms 302–304.
  • From Myeongdong: the clinic says to walk north through the Myeongdong shopping streets toward Euljiro, about 8–10 minutes from Myeongdong Station (Line 4).
  • Parking: not published; Kakao Map lists no parking.
  • Accessibility: Kakao Map marks the clinic as wheelchair-accessible.

Address for taxi drivers: 서울특별시 중구 남대문로10길 9, 경기빌딩 3층 302~304호 (삼각동)

GPS: 37.567209, 126.983234

Maps: Google Maps · Naver Map · Kakao Map

Booking and languages

  • WhatsApp: +82-10-4881-8634, the only number on the official English website; its WhatsApp buttons open this number. The clinic says it replies in English during opening hours.
  • Phone: +82-2-6959-6891, the main line registered with HIRA and on the maps.
  • Walk-ins: the clinic says walk-ins are welcome.
  • Other channels: Naver booking (Korean-language page), the KakaoTalk channel and Naver TalkTalk.
  • WeChat: the official website shows a WeChat QR code for Chinese-speaking patients; no WeChat ID is printed.
  • Languages: the clinic says both orthopedic surgeons consult in English and that its front desk handles booking, payment and documents in English. It offers Chinese through WeChat but does not say who answers in Chinese or whether consultations can be held in Chinese.

Good to know for foreign patients

  • Registration: the clinic asks for a passport or Alien Registration Card.
  • Insurance: the clinic says registered residents enrolled in Korean National Health Insurance pay the insured rate, and travelers pay and claim from their own insurer.
  • Documents: the clinic issues an English itemized receipt, an English diagnosis certificate (₩20,000 on the fee notice) and a medical record or doctor's note; an imaging copy on CD costs ₩10,000.
  • Visit length: the clinic says most visits take 60–90 minutes from arrival to leaving with documents, and most non-surgical treatments are given on the day of the consultation.
  • Imaging: the clinic says it has X-ray and ultrasound on site and arranges an MRI nearby when needed. HIRA lists 1 general X-ray unit and 3 ultrasound units.
  • VAT: the fee notice does not state VAT; ask for the price in KRW and whether VAT is included.
  • Tax refund: the tourist VAT refund on cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025; the clinic makes no tax-refund offer.
  • Payment: the clinic says it accepts foreign cards.
  • Other services: the clinic also offers an intensive pain IV program with no package price (the fee notice prices drugs individually, for example IV paracetamol at ₩100,000 per bottle), balance training and custom orthotics. Crutches cost ₩40,000 per pair on the fee notice.

FAQ

How much is shockwave therapy at Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong?

The clinic's Korean fee notice lists shockwave therapy at ₩50,000–₩180,000 (≈ US$38–136) per session, with VAT not stated. It does not say what sets the price within the range. The clinic says shockwave is usually given as a series of sessions over several weeks, depending on the condition.

Do the doctors at Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong speak English?

The clinic says both orthopedic surgeons, Dr. Sungbae Kim and Dr. Hoeyoung Kwon, consult in English, and that the front desk handles booking, payment and documents in English. It answers in English on WhatsApp at +82-10-4881-8634 during opening hours. Chinese-speaking patients can contact the clinic through a WeChat QR code on its website.

Are the doctors at Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong board-certified orthopedic surgeons?

HIRA lists 3 doctors at the clinic, all specialists: 2 in orthopedic surgery and 1 in ophthalmology (October 2026). The clinic names its two orthopedic surgeons, Dr. Sungbae Kim and Dr. Hoeyoung Kwon, which matches HIRA's count. It does not name the ophthalmology specialist.

Can I walk in to Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong without an appointment?

The clinic says walk-ins are welcome, and it is open Monday to Friday 09:00–19:30 (last registration 19:10) and Saturday 09:00–13:00, with no lunch break. You can also book on WhatsApp, by phone at +82-2-6959-6891 or through Naver booking. The clinic says most visits take 60–90 minutes.

Does Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong offer PRP injections?

The clinic's English website offers ultrasound-guided PRP injections, but its Korean website and fee notice do not mention PRP, and no price is published. Ask the clinic on WhatsApp whether PRP is available and what it costs before you visit. Prolotherapy costs ₩50,000–₩170,000 per session on the fee notice.

Can foreigners use insurance at Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong?

The clinic says registered residents enrolled in Korean National Health Insurance pay the insured rate, and travelers pay and claim from their own insurer. It issues an English itemized receipt, an English diagnosis certificate (₩20,000) and a medical record or doctor's note. Bring a passport or Alien Registration Card.

Is Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong in Myeongdong?

The clinic describes its location as Myeongdong, but the address is in Samgak-dong, Jung-gu, on the north side of Euljiro. The nearest station is Euljiro 1-ga (Line 2), Exit 3, about 2 minutes' walk. The clinic says Myeongdong Station (Line 4) is an 8–10-minute walk through the shopping streets.

Do Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong's prices include VAT?

The clinic's Korean fee notice does not say whether its prices include VAT, has no effective date and says prices may change, so confirm the price by phone or WhatsApp. The tourist VAT refund on cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025, and the clinic makes no tax-refund offer.

Listed in

Video

Relief Orthopedics Myeongdong, Seoul | Shockwave & PRP in English on the BKLB YouTube channel (27 October 2026, Korea time).

Sources and verification

Last verified: 28 October 2026. Prices will be re-checked by 26 January 2027.

Disclosure: the team behind this directory also makes websites or video guides for clinics, including this one. Listings are not ranked, and every fact on this page comes from the sources listed.

Compare with other clinics

Gangnam JS Hospital

강남제이에스병원

  • Yangjae, Seoul
  • Yangjae Station (Line 3, Sinbundang Line), Exit 3, 11 min walk
5 HIRA doctorsEnglish, Chinese, Arabic, Mongolian
  • Knee stem cell injection
  • PRP injection
  • Manual therapy
  • Shockwave therapy
  • +2
28 October 2026View listing

A Plus Dental Clinic

에이플러스치과의원

  • Cheongdam, Seoul
  • Cheongdam Station (Line 7), Exit 14, 1 min walk
2 HIRA doctorsEnglish
  • Dental implants
  • Dental crowns
  • Orthodontics
  • Teeth whitening
  • +2
28 October 2026View listing