Orthopedic clinicYangjae, SeoulHIRA-registered

Gangnam JS Hospital: orthopedic hospital in Yangjae (Dogok-dong), Seoul

강남제이에스병원

Gangnam JS Hospital (강남제이에스병원) is an orthopedic hospital in Dogok-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, at the Bangbang intersection, an 11-minute walk (705 m) from Yangjae Station (Line 3 and Shinbundang Line) Exit 3, and Korea's HIRA registry lists 5 doctors there, all specialists: 2 in orthopedic surgery, 1 in neurosurgery, 1 in anesthesiology and pain medicine and 1 in radiology (October 2026). The hospital takes international bookings on WhatsApp (+82-10-8614-3600); its main phone line is +82-2-533-3600. Its Korean fee notice, which does not state VAT, lists the Cartistem stem-cell drug at ₩9,800,000 (drug cost only), a knee PRP injection at ₩210,000 and shockwave therapy at ₩50,000–₩180,000. (As of October 2026.)

Key facts

FactDetail
TypeOrthopedic hospital. Registered with HIRA as a hospital (병원) on 14 November 2013; 46 inpatient beds, 2 operating rooms, 2 recovery beds, 11 physical therapy beds and 7 physical therapists (HIRA). HIRA does not list it as a Ministry-designated specialty hospital
AreaDogok-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, at the Bangbang intersection between Yangjae and Gangnam stations
AddressJS Building, 122 Dogok-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06259, South Korea. No floor is published for reception (Korean: 서울특별시 강남구 도곡로 122, 제이에스빌딩 (도곡동))
Nearest station and exitYangjae Station (Line 3 and Shinbundang Line), Exit 3: 705 m, about 11 minutes' walk. Gangnam Station (Line 2 and Shinbundang Line), Exit 4: 879 m, about 15 minutes' walk
Doctors5 registered with HIRA, all specialists: orthopedic surgery 2, neurosurgery 1, anesthesiology and pain medicine 1, radiology 1 (October 2026)
LanguagesKorean. English through the international team, and interpretation in Chinese, Arabic and Mongolian, as the hospital states
ContactWhatsApp +82-10-8614-3600 · phone +82-2-533-3600 · [email protected] (international team) · KakaoTalk channel. No Naver booking
HoursMon–Fri 09:00–18:00, lunch break 12:30–13:30 · Sat 09:00–12:30, by appointment · closed Sundays and public holidays
Leading treatmentsKnee stem cell injection (Cartistem) · Bone marrow aspirate concentrate (BMAC) knee injection · PRP injection · Manual therapy · Shockwave therapy · Prolotherapy · High tibial osteotomy (bow-leg correction)
PaymentKakaoPay (Kakao Map). Whether cards, including foreign cards, are accepted is not published. Prices are in KRW
Last verified28 October 2026

Leading treatments

Knee stem cell treatment: Cartistem

Cartistem is a stem-cell drug made by Medipost from donated umbilical cord blood (allogeneic umbilical cord blood-derived mesenchymal stem cells). Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (MFDS) licenses it as a prescription drug for knee cartilage defects (ICRS grade IV) in osteoarthritis patients, caused by degeneration or repeated trauma; the licence date on MFDS's record is 19 August 2021. The dose depends on the size of the defect: one or more 1.5 mL vials. At Gangnam JS Hospital it is implanted during surgery, not given as an office injection. The hospital's Korean website says the surgeon checks the cartilage defect by arthroscopy, drills small holes in the bone and implants the cells, combined with bow-leg (alignment) correction when needed. It says the operation takes about 30 minutes, or about 1 hour with alignment correction, and that patients walk on crutches for 6 weeks and return to daily life 2–3 months after surgery. The hospital's Korean and English websites give different hospital stays, so confirm the stay with the hospital. The fee notice lists Cartistem under drug costs at ₩9,800,000 with no unit; this listing reads it as per vial, because the dose is one or more vials. Surgery, anesthesia, room and other fees are separate, and no total price is published. VAT is not stated. Medipost reported in February 2026 that the hospital had performed more than 3,000 Cartistem procedures.

Bone marrow aspirate concentrate (BMAC) knee injection

Bone marrow aspirate concentrate (BMAC) is a concentrate of bone marrow drawn with a needle. The hospital's fee notice lists three lines for knee osteoarthritis: an injection of bone marrow aspirate concentrate into the knee joint under code BMAC at ₩1,000,000 and under code BMAC-I at ₩1,700,000, and a line for bone marrow aspirate concentrate without the words "injection into the knee joint" under code BMAC-O at ₩4,900,000. The notice does not explain how the three differ, so ask which one applies to you. VAT is not stated.

PRP injection

PRP (platelet-rich plasma) is a concentrate of platelets from the patient's own blood. The fee notice lists an autologous PRP injection into the knee joint for osteoarthritis at ₩210,000 per session; VAT is not stated. The hospital's English website lists PRP among its treatments.

Manual therapy

Manual therapy (도수치료) is hands-on treatment of muscles and joints by a therapist. The fee notice lists manual therapy at ₩110,000–₩198,000 with no unit or session length; this listing reads it as per session. VAT is not stated. HIRA lists 11 physical therapy beds and 7 physical therapists at the hospital.

Shockwave therapy

Extracorporeal shockwave therapy (ESWT) sends pressure waves through the skin to a painful tendon or joint. The fee notice lists it at ₩50,000–₩180,000 with no unit; this listing reads it as per session. VAT is not stated.

Prolotherapy

Prolotherapy (증식치료) is a series of injections into damaged ligaments or tendons. The fee notice lists prolotherapy at ₩100,000–₩180,000 under code MY142, and a second prolotherapy line, code MY143, at ₩100,000; it does not explain the difference or give a unit. VAT is not stated.

High tibial osteotomy (bow-leg correction)

High tibial osteotomy (HTO) cuts and realigns the shin bone below the knee to correct bow legs (genu varum). The hospital's Korean website says most mid-stage arthritis cases combine alignment correction with Cartistem treatment, and its English website says the hospital stay is about 3–5 days, followed by 2–3 months of structured rehabilitation. The fee notice gives no price for it. The English website gives a general estimate for Korea of ₩8,000,000–₩15,000,000, which depends on the implant, the surgery and the stay; it is not the hospital's own price.

Prices

Prices are from the hospital's Korean fee notice, the list of non-insured prices Korean hospitals must publish, headed 26-9-14 (14 September 2026). Each line has its own last-changed date, shown in the table. The notice does not state VAT and gives no unit for several items. The hospital's English website publishes no prices of its own, only general estimates for Korea, which are not shown here. No event prices are published. Approximate US dollar amounts use the exchange rate of 23 October 2026.

TreatmentUnitPrice (KRW)Approx. USDVATTypeValid untilChecked
Cartistem, drug cost only (last changed 10 Nov 2025)per vial (unit not stated)₩9,800,000≈ US$7,400VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
BMAC injection into the knee joint, code BMAC (last changed 13 Mar 2026)per session₩1,000,000≈ US$755VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
BMAC injection into the knee joint, code BMAC-I (last changed 7 May 2026)per session₩1,700,000≈ US$1,280VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
Bone marrow aspirate concentrate, code BMAC-O (last changed 23 Dec 2025)per session₩4,900,000≈ US$3,700VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
PRP injection into the knee joint (last changed 24 Dec 2024)per session₩210,000≈ US$159VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
Manual therapy (last changed 1 Jul 2026)per session (unit not stated)₩110,000–₩198,000≈ US$83–149VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
Shockwave therapy, ESWT (last changed 1 Jul 2026)per session (unit not stated)₩50,000–₩180,000≈ US$38–136VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026
Prolotherapy, code MY142 (last changed 23 May 2025)per session (unit not stated)₩100,000–₩180,000≈ US$76–136VAT not statedRegular—28 Oct 2026

Doctors

  • Dr. Song Jun-seop, president of Gangnam JS HospitalSong Jun-seopPresident and representative director (대표원장)
  • Dr. Kim Na-min, hospital director of Gangnam JS HospitalKim Na-minHospital director (병원장)
  • Dr. Hwang Yoon-ha, neurosurgeon at Gangnam JS HospitalHwang Yoon-haMedical director (진료원장), head of the spine endoscopy center
  • Dr. Lee Sun-yong, radiologist at Gangnam JS HospitalLee Sun-yongMedical director (진료원장), radiologist
  • Dr. Cheon Ji-hyun, anesthesiologist at Gangnam JS HospitalCheon Ji-hyunAnesthesia director (마취원장)

Korea's HIRA registry (Health Insurance Review and Assessment Service) lists 5 doctors at Gangnam JS Hospital, all specialists: 2 in orthopedic surgery, 1 in neurosurgery, 1 in anesthesiology and pain medicine and 1 in radiology (October 2026). HIRA does not publish names. The hospital's Korean website names five doctors in the same fields:

  • Dr. Song Jun-seop (송준섭), president and representative director, board-certified orthopedic surgeon. The hospital says Dr. Song focuses on knee joints, including stem-cell treatment for degenerative arthritis, and meniscus injuries, and was a team doctor for Korea at the 2010 and 2014 FIFA World Cups and the 2012 London Olympics. Dr. Song sees patients by reservation only, booked by phone two weeks ahead.
  • Dr. Kim Na-min (김나민), hospital director, board-certified orthopedic surgeon. The hospital says Dr. Kim treats sports injuries of the knee, back, shoulder and ankle, arthritis and bunions, gives non-surgical spine care and performs bow-leg surgery, and is a former doctor of Korea's national football team.
  • Dr. Hwang Yoon-ha (황윤하), medical director and head of the spine endoscopy center, board-certified neurosurgeon. The hospital says Dr. Hwang performs spine endoscopic surgery for disc problems and stenosis, and non-surgical spine injections.
  • Dr. Lee Sun-yong (이선용), medical director, board-certified radiologist. The hospital says Dr. Lee graduated from Yonsei University College of Medicine.
  • Dr. Cheon Ji-hyun (천지현), anesthesia director, board-certified in anesthesiology and pain medicine. The hospital says Dr. Cheon gives general, regional and spinal anesthesia and total intravenous anesthesia (TIVA).

Getting there

  • From Yangjae Station: Exit 3, 705 m, about 11 minutes' walk (Kakao Map; Naver Map gives 708 m). The hospital says to walk towards the Bangbang intersection and then 150 m to the right, about 10 minutes.
  • From Gangnam Station: Exit 4, 879 m, about 15 minutes' walk (Naver Map). The hospital says to go straight towards the Bangbang intersection, cross, and then walk 150 m to the left, about 14 minutes.
  • Bus: the hospital says buses 340, 420, 4432 and 강남07 stop at the Bangbang intersection (뱅뱅사거리·뱅뱅프라자).
  • Parking: valet parking at the front of the building costs 3,000 won, then 1,000 won per 30 minutes after 3 hours (the hospital's Korean website).
  • Accessibility: wheelchair facilities (Kakao Map).

Address for taxi drivers: 서울특별시 강남구 도곡로 122, 제이에스빌딩 (도곡동)

GPS: 37.489924, 127.033723

Maps: Google Maps · Naver Map · Kakao Map

Booking and languages

  • WhatsApp: +82-10-8614-3600. The official website lists it "for booking", and its WhatsApp buttons open this number.
  • Phone: +82-2-533-3600, the main line registered with HIRA. The hospital's Korean website also lists a consultation office line, +82-2-519-0850.
  • Email: [email protected], the international team's address on the official website.
  • Other channels: the KakaoTalk channel and Instagram. There is no Naver booking.
  • Appointments: Dr. Song sees patients by reservation only, booked by phone two weeks ahead. Saturday schedules of the other doctors vary, so call first.
  • Languages: the hospital says interpretation in English, Chinese, Arabic and Mongolian is available for international patients, and its website marks the booking line +82-10-8614-3600 as English-speaking. It does not say whether the doctors consult in English.

Good to know for foreign patients

  • Before you travel: the hospital asks overseas patients to send a recent MRI (taken within 3–6 months) and medical records for a remote review and virtual consultation.
  • Days in Korea: the hospital's English website says stem-cell knee treatment needs a total stay of about 2–3 weeks. The hospital's Korean and English websites give different hospital stays after Cartistem surgery; confirm the plan before you book flights.
  • English documents: the fee notice lists an English diagnosis certificate at ₩20,000, an English medical opinion at ₩50,000, an English letter for airport use at ₩20,000 and a medical opinion on an insurer's own form at ₩200,000. The hospital also mentions insurance support but does not describe it.
  • Without Korean insurance: visitors without Korean National Health Insurance pay the non-insured fee; for example, a knee MRI costs ₩250,000–₩680,000 on the fee notice.
  • VAT: the fee notice does not state VAT. Ask for a written quote in KRW that covers the drug, surgery, anesthesia and hospital stay and says whether VAT is included.
  • Tax refund: the tourist VAT refund on cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025, and the hospital makes no tax-refund offer.
  • Payment: Kakao Map lists KakaoPay; ask about foreign cards and bank transfers before you travel.
  • Other treatments: spine endoscopic surgery and percutaneous epidural neuroplasty (₩2,100,000 on the fee notice), non-surgical spine care, sports-injury care and MRI; a single room costs ₩350,000–₩450,000 extra (no unit on the notice; room charges are usually per day).

FAQ

How much does Cartistem cost at Gangnam JS Hospital?

The fee notice lists the Cartistem drug at ₩9,800,000 (≈ US$7,400) with no unit, read here as per vial; the dose is one or more vials, depending on the defect size. Surgery, anesthesia and the hospital stay cost extra, and no total price or VAT status is published. Ask for a written quote for one knee.

Is Cartistem an injection or surgery at Gangnam JS Hospital?

Surgery. The hospital's Korean website says the surgeon checks the cartilage by arthroscopy, drills small holes in the bone and implants the stem cells, sometimes with bow-leg correction. It says the operation takes about 30 minutes, or about 1 hour with alignment correction, with 6 weeks on crutches afterwards.

Is Cartistem approved in Korea?

Yes. Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety licenses Cartistem as a prescription drug for knee cartilage defects (ICRS grade IV) in osteoarthritis patients caused by degeneration or repeated trauma; the licence date on its record is 19 August 2021. It is made by Medipost from donated umbilical cord blood stem cells.

How long should I stay in Korea for knee stem cell treatment?

The hospital's English website says the total stay is about 2–3 weeks, including evaluation before surgery and early recovery. Its Korean and English websites give different hospital stays, so confirm the plan with the hospital. You can send a recent MRI for a remote review before you book flights.

How much is a PRP knee injection at Gangnam JS Hospital?

The fee notice lists an autologous PRP injection into the knee joint for osteoarthritis at ₩210,000 (≈ US$159) per session, with VAT not stated. It also lists bone marrow aspirate concentrate injections into the knee joint at ₩1,000,000 and ₩1,700,000, without explaining the difference between the two codes.

Are the doctors at Gangnam JS Hospital board-certified orthopedic surgeons?

HIRA lists 5 doctors, all specialists: 2 in orthopedic surgery, 1 in neurosurgery, 1 in anesthesiology and pain medicine and 1 in radiology (October 2026). The hospital names Dr. Song Jun-seop and Dr. Kim Na-min as its orthopedic surgeons. Dr. Song sees patients by reservation, booked two weeks ahead.

Do the staff at Gangnam JS Hospital speak English?

The hospital says interpretation in English, Chinese, Arabic and Mongolian is available for international patients, and its website marks the booking line +82-10-8614-3600 (also on WhatsApp) as English-speaking. The international team uses [email protected]. The hospital does not say whether its doctors consult in English.

Do Gangnam JS Hospital's prices include VAT?

The fee notice does not say whether its prices include VAT, and it gives no unit for several items. The tourist VAT refund on cosmetic procedures ended on 31 December 2025. Ask for a written quote in KRW that includes all fees and states VAT before you travel.

Listed in

Sources and verification

Last verified: 28 October 2026. Prices will be re-checked by 26 January 2027.

Disclosure: the team behind this directory also makes websites or video guides for clinics, including this one. Listings are not ranked, and every fact on this page comes from the sources listed.

Compare with other clinics

A Plus Dental Clinic

에이플러스치과의원

  • Cheongdam, Seoul
  • Cheongdam Station (Line 7), Exit 14, 1 min walk
2 HIRA doctorsEnglish
  • Dental implants
  • Dental crowns
  • Orthodontics
  • Teeth whitening
  • +2
28 October 2026View listing